Carol's Butter Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I dont eat butter pecan cake but my husband requested it for his birthday.. He loved it.. Will def be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was the best cake ever. When we made this for our teacher, she said it was the cake around since she has been down here. The rest of the fifth grade teachers said it was also good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I made this cake for my parents birthdays, which are a week apart, because they both love butter pecan ice cream. It was a beautiful cake and it got lots of oh's and ah's at the party. Everyone said it was delicious. I, on the other hand, thought it was a little dry even though I only baked it for 20 minutes but the flavor was very good. Also I thought the frosting was way to sweet. I wish I listened to my gut and used my regular butter cream frosting which I think would have paired better with the cake. Next time I will and I'll add buttermilk to the cake to combat the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Awesome cake!! My family loves this!! Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedangel

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahgouthro
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
The flavor was excellent but like others, i found it dry. It needed vanilla ice cream or a big glass of milk. My family liked that it was a change from chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahgouthro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldron, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Lovely cake! I reduced the recipe to "ten servings" (to make it just two layers instead of three). Also, I used half walnuts and that was just fine. It was elegant yet simple and impressed my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kparker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This cake was splendid! With a few exceptions. I would suggest adding twice the butter because the cake came out a bit dry. I didn't make the traditional frosting but made one of my own (brown sugar, confectioners sugar, heavy cream, butter, and the remainder of the buttered pecans) It turned out magnificently, a rather sweet glaze. But it works much better when made as a bundt cake. Overall, the smell and taste of the buttered pecans was heavenly! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Has a wonderful flavor but, cake came out VERY dry, I will try making this again but I will be adding oil to recipe. Will let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
OMG, OMG, I just baked this cake and levelled off the tops. I sampled the pieces and I'm sold on this one-it is soooooo tasty, just like the ice cream... I also am a cake decorator and will definitely use this as a go-to cake. One of my customers specifically asked me for a butter pecan cake for her father-in-law's birthday. I searched on here and found this recipe but had to double the recipe to accomodate the people, that was the only thing I changed and I used 2-12 inch round cake pans and baked them for 45 minutes. I am going to use the frosting recipe for the filling as I have made the cakes into 4 layers. Turned out a pretty golden brown and is super moist. Will use a butter cream frosting to decorate with as it will be a western themed cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kane, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I made this cake on request and it turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States