Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This dish is not terrible, but should not really be called arroz con pollo. It is more like a blander Americanized version of chicken and rice. Where is the chorizo? Where is the oregano? Where is the cumin? Where is the lime juice? Where are the peas? Where are the olives or capers? I realize arroz con pollo is not a recipe that is set in stone, and that it has many variations, but if you want a more traditional dish, you need to go beyond this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
The Idea behind Arroz con Pollo is a one pot dish, as many of you from Spanish decent already know. The recipe is fine to follow but instead of removing as you cook, just keep adding the ingredients as you go, then add your rice and stock, Oh and also remember a whole cut up chicken works as well; if not even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This was great!! I omitted the tomatoes to make it more like the restaurant Arroz con Pollo, and it was! I used bone-in chicken breasts, so I had to cook the chicken a little longer. Also, I cut down the oil to 1 tablespoon to reduce the fat. Wasn't even missed! The second time I used boneless chicken breasts (big time saver), and olive oil instead of vegetable oil - noticeable difference in the flavor!! Will do that again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Good recipe, but it's better if you cook the chicken with the onions and leave the chicken in while adding the rice, etc. This allows the chicken to absorb the flavors of the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A. Milan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Thanks Carol, great recipe! The first time I made this, I felt the white wine and green pepper overwhelmed the other flavors. The second time I cut the white wine in half and omitted the green peppers. The third time I made it, I omitted the wine, the green peppers, and added some grated cheddar cheese. Wonderful! No leftovers on the third try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Very good recipe...Not a traditional Arroz Con Pollo recipe though but a good alternate. I marinated my chicken for a few hours(any liquid works-buttermilk, italian dressing etc..) then browned chicken on both sides in oil then added peppers(used red), onion, garlic and did the rest as listed but never removed the chicken from the pan-I let it finish cooking in all the liquids with the rice(rice is put in uncooked not cooked) and it was super moist. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of stewed and I didn't have saffron so I used Abodo and extra Hungarian paprika(probably a little too much-it was spicy!) and I skipped the parsley. Very good dish with great flavor. Will make again and I look forward to the left-over tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This was OK, a bit bland. After seeing the price for the saffron ($16) for a small bottle, I used tumeric ($5) like someone suggested. I kept the chicken in the skillet the whole time. Healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Bishop Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This was really simple and good. One suggestion I have is to warm up the chicken broth separately and allow the saffron threads to soften so the flavor is better distrubuted. This shouldn't necessarily taste like spanish rice so I don't agree with some reviews adding cumin, but I would add a squeeze of fresh lime and substitute the parsley for cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
New cook here, just wanted to say I was really impressed with how quick and easy this recipe was! I didn't have any saffron, so I used a little tumeric just for color, and also substituted 1/4 c. apple juice, 2tbs. vinegar, and 2 tbs. lemon juice for the white wine. We all thought it was pretty darn good just the same! Thanks Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I thought this was really good, and easier than some arroz con pollo recipes that I have seen. As a chef I have to tell all of you that substituted tumeric for saffron, and then complained of lack of flavor, that this is the problem!! Saffron and Turmeric are NOT interchangeable. Turmeric will give you the yellow color, but almost no flavor. Saffron imparts a very unique flavor to food that cannot be duplicated!! To get even more flavor out of it warm the chicken broth and steep the saffron threads in it for a few minutes before adding it to the other ingredients. This will result in more flavor as well as a more even, brighter yellow color. The only thing that I would add to this recipe is some coarsely chopped green olives. Chicken thighs could also be substituted for the breasts, for a moister, less expensive chicken option. Remember this is Spanish style arroz con pollo, and if you are looking for this to taste like something from a mexican restaurant, this may not be what you are looking for. This did taste similar to paella, and arroz con pollo that we had in Mallorca Spain!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States