Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I thought this was really good, and easier than some arroz con pollo recipes that I have seen. As a chef I have to tell all of you that substituted tumeric for saffron, and then complained of lack of flavor, that this is the problem!! Saffron and Turmeric are NOT interchangeable. Turmeric will give you the yellow color, but almost no flavor. Saffron imparts a very unique flavor to food that cannot be duplicated!! To get even more flavor out of it warm the chicken broth and steep the saffron threads in it for a few minutes before adding it to the other ingredients. This will result in more flavor as well as a more even, brighter yellow color. The only thing that I would add to this recipe is some coarsely chopped green olives. Chicken thighs could also be substituted for the breasts, for a moister, less expensive chicken option. Remember this is Spanish style arroz con pollo, and if you are looking for this to taste like something from a mexican restaurant, this may not be what you are looking for. This did taste similar to paella, and arroz con pollo that we had in Mallorca Spain!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Delicious home cooked meal-good & healthy for the family (not a company meal). I followed some of the advice - cut to 1 TB olive oil. Kept chicken in pan while adding the rest of the ingredients as instructed. I also simmered the broth with saffron. It ended up being very flavorful, and we are usually of the "not enough flavor ilk". If you don't use stewed tomatoes there may not be enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Delicious! The only thing I didn't like was buying saffron, which is really expensive. The meal was very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
The flavor of this dish was incredible! I went out and bought the saffron for it ($16.99) and am so glad I did! Added a little chile powder, oregano, cumin and a can of peas. Delicious... thank you so much, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is yummy and healthy and comes together quickly. I didn't have a green pepper or white wine, so I subbed carrots and vodka (weird subs, I know--but it turned out excellent anyway).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very good. I followed this recipe exactly and it was great. I definitely will make it again. After taking a few bites, I did add some more fresh ground pepper, but maybe that's just me. Next time I will probably add more parsley too, but I love parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
So easy to make, and delicious as well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
this recipe has everything that i look for - versatility, ease of preparation, and it's good for you too! i had to make several changes based on what i had, and since i wasn't too concerned with making it a true "arroz con pollo" it didn't matter. i used all chicken broth (no wine), tomato sauce instead of stewed tomatoes, and 2 boneless chicken breasts. i added oregano, cumin, and used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. DELICIOUS! we really enjoyed this and i wil definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was a great meal. My fiancee likes his food very spicy, so I added 2 hot peppers. I also couldn't find saffron, so I substituted turmeric for the saffron. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States