Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very good and easy. I will be making this one again. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZA COOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I have a few things to say... one person was talking about chorizo and capers and olives ... that must be the Puerto Rican kind because we are Cuban and while we do use cumin, we do not use all that other stuff. If you want to try something the way my abuela does, use beer instead of wine and use fresh saffron. It's expensive but tasty! We don't use parsley nor paprika. We do put vigo in or bijol and we also put a packet of Sazon con Azafran. I do put some fresh lemon on my chicken and sprinkle cumin on it. These are just ideas to incorporate. Incorporate some or just a couple. Salud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Read through all the reviews to see if any other people were strapped like I was... no white wine, no chicken broth, no stewed tomatoes, no saffron - but drawn to this recipe even so. No white wine was not a problem (so fear not!) Stewed fresh tomatoes myself in water with chicken bouillon cubes -- worked perfectly. Used turmeric instead of saffron. Used poblano pepper as did not have bell. Also kicked it up a lot with Creole seasonings and crushed red peppers. Cooked chicken as directed, then heated up with a little oil to give it a crunchier bite and texture. We LOVED this recipe and I will definitely be making it again. Will make it next time according to directions, but loved how flexible this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious! The only changes I made were I used diced tomatoes with garlic (I didn't have any stewed tomatoes) and I added about 1/2 c of chopped Portuguese smoked chourico. Seasoning was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Next time double seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Delicious & simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and my family and I all thought it was just OK. I might try again with some changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is very yummy. I've made it twice for the hubby and he loved it. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I love this recipe. I increase the amount of salt and spices, probably because my tomatoes have no salt. It's an easy recipe to play around with and is always a hit when I have unexpected company I have to cook for. Some of the reviews and substitutions here are... interesting... to say the least. If it tastes bad after you substitute half of the ingredients, I don't think it's the recipe's fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States