Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delicious Arroz Con Pollo when adding Fresh Chicken Breasts and Thighs, Chicken Broth, Arborio Pearl Rice, a Red Pepper Diced, Green Scallions Diced, Garlic, Green Manzanilla Olives Stuffed with Pimento, Red Wine Vinegar, White Whine Vinegar, Parsley Chopped, Olive Oil, Saffron Threads, Salt, Pepper, Oregano, Other Herbs and Spices To Taste; Add Green Peas and Red Pimento Diced at the end before serving. Arroz Con Pollo Has a Rich, Savory Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G.C. Hung

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I modified this recipe in great deal after reading a few previous reviews. Instead of using chicken breast I used whole cut up chicken. Also, I replaced paprika to Mexican chili powder. Finally I added capers and some pork sausages and omitted salt quite a bit. It turned out super delicious and tasted much more like the authentic style I used to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I am a condiment addict, so I added some salsa and sour cream to my own dish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Could use a little more flavor. It was a little on the bland side. There were good flavors surfacing through, but it could have used a little more punch. We added red pepper flake to the servings on our plates, and that helped. I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My husband begged me to find this recipe. My kids and husband loved it! I have never been a fan of this dish so I'm taking my opinion out of the equation and giving it the 5 stars that they insist it deserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Here's how I solved the saffron issue (expensive/readily available): I used saffron rice. The brand I used already had garlic and onion in it, so I did not add any more. I also chose stewed tomatoes that already had green chili (versus bell) peppers mixed in. These changes simplified the prep and the result was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I found this to be just an "ok" meal... seems like Spanish rice with saffron & chicken. I had to add extra seasoning & more water/broth to cook the rice. There's a recipe on this site labeled "Original Spanish rice" which is MUCH MUCH better... just add chicken. Beats this recipe by a mile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Pretty bland, and I even added extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEY101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I would give this 3-1/2 stars. It was good, but not great. I did leave out the tomatoes 'cuz in Honduras where I live, the Arroz con Pollo doesn't contain them. I would use this as a base recipe and modify to fit my families taste. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honduras Missionary Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Didn't use tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States