Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
great dish, my family loves a great mexican dish and this is one of them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made this for the first time tonight - followed the recipe to a T, except used diced tomatoes instead of stewed, because that was what I had on hand. It was really tasty, and even my (ahem) culinarily challenged (read: picky) husband had two helpings. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was delicious and so easy!! I only made a few revisions: I added about 1/8th tsp of cumin and turmric. I also had to add quite a bit more salt than the 1/2 tsp the recipe called for. Alerted by other's reviews that the recipe was bland I made sure to taste it all the way through and found myself adding more salt almost ever time. I would estimate I added about 1 1/2 tsp total. Which is not a lot for 4 people but next time I'll try to figure out how to add less salt. I'm thinking of using scallions next time to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This dish was fabulous! The only thing I did different was added a spice called sazon. I also put sour cream on top and sliced up an avocado. It was THE BEST! I can't wait to eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holtsville, New York, USA
Living In: Manorville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was delicious. I made with brown rice instead of white rice. I left out the wine and saffron and parsley since I didn't have that on hand. Also I used red, orange and yellow bell pepper. It was delicious and tasted very fresh. I brought the leftovers the next day to work and everyone commented on how wonderful it looked and smelled! It was wonderful! My whole family enjoyed it! Thanks for the recipe! Will definately make again and I don't think I will change what I did, why ruin a good thing. If it is not broke don't fix it right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
No, it's not traditional arroz con pollo, but it's still pretty delicious. I followed the advice of other reviewers and left the chicken in the pot the entire time, which I think was a wise decision (and less hassle that taking it out and putting it back in later). Super easy and super satisfying, plus I'm certain you could add more veggies and it would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Absolutely Delicious Quick & Easy! I didn't have all of the inexpedience so i substituted tomato sauce for the stewed tomatoes, garlic powder for minced garlic, 2c frozen chopped peppers&onions and left out the saffron and parsley. I also added a bit of cayenne pepper to the chicken to give it a little kick. This came out fabulous! However the only complaint I have is that I had a hard time getting the rice completely cooked. It was close, but ended up being too undercooked and had to chew on a few rice pieces here and there. I used regular rice because the recipe didn't say instant..but maybe now I'm thinking it was supposed to be instant or maybe my heat was too low. Either way, it was still very enjoyable and I will make this again! Next time I may cook the rice a little before adding it to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was really tasty and straight forward to make. I was unable to find the saffron so substituted that with one packet of Sazon Goya con Azafran and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Definitely not like the arroz con pollo I am used to at my favorite restaurant, but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delicious Arroz Con Pollo when adding Fresh Chicken Breasts and Thighs, Chicken Broth, Arborio Pearl Rice, a Red Pepper Diced, Green Scallions Diced, Garlic, Green Manzanilla Olives Stuffed with Pimento, Red Wine Vinegar, White Whine Vinegar, Parsley Chopped, Olive Oil, Saffron Threads, Salt, Pepper, Oregano, Other Herbs and Spices To Taste; Add Green Peas and Red Pimento Diced at the end before serving. Arroz Con Pollo Has a Rich, Savory Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHung

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States