Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
the dish was blander than i expected. just didn't taste good. mourn the saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
**loved loved loved!** One of the best, well received recipes that I've ever made! Made with skinless bonless thighs and served over peas & it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
great starter, added a tin of chili tomatoes, 2 chorizo sausage, lime juice, oregano and cumin. sprinkled cheese over the top and served withe sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
authentic or not, this was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I'll sidestep the "is it authentic" debate since I've never eaten arroz con pollo before. I will say that I thought it was really good. As some suggested, I left the chicken in while the rice cooked. Some suggested adding peas near the end of the cooking time so I did, but I don't think they really added anything and I would probably leave them out if I made it again. Overall I thought it was a really tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Delicious, for once I got the rice done right...not overcooked and not undercooked. The family gobbled it up even though I to deal with a lot of substitutions since I didn't have all of the ingredients. Still turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Picky kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LompocCook
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was an easy, healthy, and tasty dish. The only change I made was that I put in a dash of cumin instead of saffron since saffron is so expensive and I didn't have it on hand. The texture of the rice was great and the cooking time was accurate. I'd say the primary flavor was from the tomatoes, so if you like a spicy dish or if you are not a big fan of tomatoes, you might want to tweak this. My husband suggested that next time we make this, we might add some roasted pasilla peppers to get a little deeper flavor and some heat, since this dish is not hot at all. Overall, good flavor and a nice, homey meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Even though I had to improvise a little, since I didn't have the exact ingredients on hand, this meal was delicious! Mr. PickyPants pronounced it "yummy." We love rice, so this recipe will stay in my rotation. P.S. Like most other reviewers, I didn't have saffron on hand. I used about 1/4 t. cumin instead -- I like cumin, and didn't mind if the rice wasn't yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was alright I expected more depth of flavor then what I got
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States