Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was a little time consuming since it was my first time making it but it was well worth the wait!! My husband and I loved it. It was even better as leftovers the next day. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Great start for an awesome recipe. Needed some heat for me so I added chili powder, crushed red peppers and some cumin. Also used tumeric instead of saffron, and brown rice instead of the long grain rice. Great leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
A very nice, easy-to-do weeknight recipe. These are ingredients I generally always have on hand, except for the saffron (which I now do!). A solid 4 star for this family. I understand that it's not really an Arroz Con Pollo, but who cares when it is tasty. Plus, if an ingredient is missing, i.e., bell pepper, parsley, wine, it would still be tasty. Why is it not a 5 star for us? I reserve the 5 star ratings for those very few recipes my family would be happy to eat once a week or more and always request. This is a recipe they'd be glad to see once a month. Great work, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
We liked this - good flavor and nice for a simple, weeknight meal. We had it with a salad with Zesty Salad Dressing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I basically combined this recipe with Chicken with Rice (Arroz con Pollo)( from this site also). Used boneless chicken breasts, but all of the seasonings of the other recipe. Cooked on stovetop, got rave review from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
So, so, so yummy. I have a friend who loves it when I make this so much, that he calls sometimes just to ask if I'll make him some to take to his house. He's even offered to pay. LOL. My family loves it as well. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I thought this was really good, and easier than some arroz con pollo recipes that I have seen. As a chef I have to tell all of you that substituted tumeric for saffron, and then complained of lack of flavor, that this is the problem!! Saffron and Turmeric are NOT interchangeable. Turmeric will give you the yellow color, but almost no flavor. Saffron imparts a very unique flavor to food that cannot be duplicated!! To get even more flavor out of it warm the chicken broth and steep the saffron threads in it for a few minutes before adding it to the other ingredients. This will result in more flavor as well as a more even, brighter yellow color. The only thing that I would add to this recipe is some coarsely chopped green olives. Chicken thighs could also be substituted for the breasts, for a moister, less expensive chicken option. Remember this is Spanish style arroz con pollo, and if you are looking for this to taste like something from a mexican restaurant, this may not be what you are looking for. This did taste similar to paella, and arroz con pollo that we had in Mallorca Spain!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Delicious home cooked meal-good & healthy for the family (not a company meal). I followed some of the advice - cut to 1 TB olive oil. Kept chicken in pan while adding the rest of the ingredients as instructed. I also simmered the broth with saffron. It ended up being very flavorful, and we are usually of the "not enough flavor ilk". If you don't use stewed tomatoes there may not be enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Delicious! The only thing I didn't like was buying saffron, which is really expensive. The meal was very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
The flavor of this dish was incredible! I went out and bought the saffron for it ($16.99) and am so glad I did! Added a little chile powder, oregano, cumin and a can of peas. Delicious... thank you so much, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States