Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
don't listen to MLEESS, she/he is obviously confused and doesn't know their recipes/ethnic foods. The one she/he is thinking of is Paella, Arroz con Pollo (MLEESS you paying attention?...) translates to chicken with rice... (not con (frijoles..peas, not con chorizo) this recipe is great, the perfect simplicity of it makes it AUTHENTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This will become a staple for me. The basics of the recipe are just great. As another reviewer suggested, it doesn't have a typical Arroz con Pollo flavor, so in place of the paprika and saffron I substituted cumin (1 teaspoon) and oregano (1/2-1 tablespoon, I didn't really measure). I also added a small package of frozen peas to the recipe between browning the rice and adding the broth and left out the tomatoes because of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
A nice, filling, one pot supper. Nothing spectacular. I used turkey instead of chicken, turmeric instead of saffron, and yellow pepper instead of green. I also added a teaspoon of cilantro. Use just 1 T. of olive oil instead of 3 T. of vegetable, and keep the chicken in the pot as you add the other ingredients. Beware - this burns quickly so keep a close eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is my 2nd time making this and it is so good! I didn't make this the first time with saffron ( so expensive ) or white wine ( personal perfence ) and I used roasted garlic, YUM! Ricky Ricardo sure knew what he was talking about.I forgot to say that I would add extra rice to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for to use up my leftover chicken! I only used half a green pepper, substituted Spanish Paprika, added 1/2 cup of frozen corn and added 1/8 tsp of cayenne for a little tingle on the lips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I thought this was really good! I was a little hesitant based on some of the reviews, but overall I thought it had great flavor. I did use a yellow pepper instead of green, tumeric instead of saffron, and extra salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Delicious. I added cumin, chili powder, sazon and cooked in all in one pan after browning the chicken. I added goya's adobe spice - wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This is a great one pan meal. I add cumin, diced green chili, and lime juice to mine. I also use cilantro in place of parsley, just because we love it. Really good with sliced avocado!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Made this last night and it turned out great! Definitely add the extras seasonings other reviewers talk about (cumin especially). And I used half of a green, red, and yellow pepper for more color. I also took the chicken out and put it back in when I put all the liquids in. Turned out perfect! And no one mentioned the other plus to this recipe - EASY CLEAN UP! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States