Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Made this for my cooking club where the theme was comfort food with a twist. The recipe on it own was a great, easy dish, however, I did make slight adjustments. I boiled my chicken in a dutch oven with adobo seasoning for an hour on low-medium then shredded the chicken. I placed the chicken on a paper plate then sauted the veggies, added the rice (which I used Vigo yellow rice), added two extra cloves of garlic and a tsp of cumin. When the rice had 5 minutes cooking time left I added the shredded chicken. After this, it was 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
My family just loved this. I followed the recipe exactly and it was spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is a latin dish and each latin country makes it in a different way. I did have before the Colombian version of this recipe and it was really good, it does not have any tomatoes so tha's why I omitted it. I cooked the rice by itself, sauted the onion/garlic/vegetables (carrots and red bell pepper) in a different pan and used leftover of a roasted chicken, this way the vegetables were nice and crispy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Made this on Cinco de Mayo for my husband and sister. It was quite good, and they absolutely loved it. I had planned on leftovers for the next night's dinner, but we only had enough for one lunch! I added cumin as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I could tell by reading this that it was going to be too bland for our taste, but a VERY GOOD jumping off point! For people who like more plain food, you will like this as written. I added 1/2ts each onion powder, cumin and chili powder and 1/4ts cayenne. Also, chopped up a stalk of celery, a whole vidalia onion, mushrooms. Threw it all in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours total. Halfway in I added a drained can of black beans and 1c frozen corn. Mixed 1tb Masa into 3/4c heavy cream and stirred it in. Served with sour cream, chopped avocado, tomato, squeezed lime juice over, salt and pepper... FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good... works well if you substitute one pound of ground chicken or turkey (browned w/ paprika and spices like recipe, then added onions and peppers, et all and sauteed all together, added wine and broth then continued with recipe as written).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYREDLOCKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I've made this two times and then I found the "Easy Paella" recipe on this site and made that. I found that I liked different things about both recipes, so I combined them. I think the Paella recipe had better seasonings and used sausage. While the Arroz con Pollo recipe uses tomatoes for an authentic flavor. I basically made this recipe, but seasoned it according to the Paella recipe and used smoked Hillshire farm sausage in addition to chicken. I also found it needed more liquid to cook correctly (for 1 cup of rice) so I added 1 cup of v-8 juice in addition to broth and wine - and I omitted the tomatoes. combining the two recipes gives the best of what both have to offer! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
AMAZING! Have made it quite a few times now changing it to what I have in the house (always adding more cumin than asked for, my fave spice!). This recipe is a winner every time. Best part is my hubby said its better than his mothers, who is from Panama!! I am sure he wont let her in on that, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Followed this recipe to the T. I love the texture and flavor of the rice. The saffron really give the rice an in extra boost in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I loved how this recipe was so easy and uncomplicated. I substituted brown rice instead of white rice and it still turned out very well! (Just another suggestion for anyone who would like an healthier option.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States