Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Made this for my cooking club where the theme was comfort food with a twist. The recipe on it own was a great, easy dish, however, I did make slight adjustments. I boiled my chicken in a dutch oven with adobo seasoning for an hour on low-medium then shredded the chicken. I placed the chicken on a paper plate then sauted the veggies, added the rice (which I used Vigo yellow rice), added two extra cloves of garlic and a tsp of cumin. When the rice had 5 minutes cooking time left I added the shredded chicken. After this, it was 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
My family just loved this. I followed the recipe exactly and it was spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is a latin dish and each latin country makes it in a different way. I did have before the Colombian version of this recipe and it was really good, it does not have any tomatoes so tha's why I omitted it. I cooked the rice by itself, sauted the onion/garlic/vegetables (carrots and red bell pepper) in a different pan and used leftover of a roasted chicken, this way the vegetables were nice and crispy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Made this on Cinco de Mayo for my husband and sister. It was quite good, and they absolutely loved it. I had planned on leftovers for the next night's dinner, but we only had enough for one lunch! I added cumin as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I could tell by reading this that it was going to be too bland for our taste, but a VERY GOOD jumping off point! For people who like more plain food, you will like this as written. I added 1/2ts each onion powder, cumin and chili powder and 1/4ts cayenne. Also, chopped up a stalk of celery, a whole vidalia onion, mushrooms. Threw it all in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours total. Halfway in I added a drained can of black beans and 1c frozen corn. Mixed 1tb Masa into 3/4c heavy cream and stirred it in. Served with sour cream, chopped avocado, tomato, squeezed lime juice over, salt and pepper... FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good... works well if you substitute one pound of ground chicken or turkey (browned w/ paprika and spices like recipe, then added onions and peppers, et all and sauteed all together, added wine and broth then continued with recipe as written).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYREDLOCKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I've made this two times and then I found the "Easy Paella" recipe on this site and made that. I found that I liked different things about both recipes, so I combined them. I think the Paella recipe had better seasonings and used sausage. While the Arroz con Pollo recipe uses tomatoes for an authentic flavor. I basically made this recipe, but seasoned it according to the Paella recipe and used smoked Hillshire farm sausage in addition to chicken. I also found it needed more liquid to cook correctly (for 1 cup of rice) so I added 1 cup of v-8 juice in addition to broth and wine - and I omitted the tomatoes. combining the two recipes gives the best of what both have to offer! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
AMAZING! Have made it quite a few times now changing it to what I have in the house (always adding more cumin than asked for, my fave spice!). This recipe is a winner every time. Best part is my hubby said its better than his mothers, who is from Panama!! I am sure he wont let her in on that, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Followed this recipe to the T. I love the texture and flavor of the rice. The saffron really give the rice an in extra boost in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I loved how this recipe was so easy and uncomplicated. I substituted brown rice instead of white rice and it still turned out very well! (Just another suggestion for anyone who would like an healthier option.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States