Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This will become a staple for me. The basics of the recipe are just great. As another reviewer suggested, it doesn't have a typical Arroz con Pollo flavor, so in place of the paprika and saffron I substituted cumin (1 teaspoon) and oregano (1/2-1 tablespoon, I didn't really measure). I also added a small package of frozen peas to the recipe between browning the rice and adding the broth and left out the tomatoes because of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
A nice, filling, one pot supper. Nothing spectacular. I used turkey instead of chicken, turmeric instead of saffron, and yellow pepper instead of green. I also added a teaspoon of cilantro. Use just 1 T. of olive oil instead of 3 T. of vegetable, and keep the chicken in the pot as you add the other ingredients. Beware - this burns quickly so keep a close eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is my 2nd time making this and it is so good! I didn't make this the first time with saffron ( so expensive ) or white wine ( personal perfence ) and I used roasted garlic, YUM! Ricky Ricardo sure knew what he was talking about.I forgot to say that I would add extra rice to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for to use up my leftover chicken! I only used half a green pepper, substituted Spanish Paprika, added 1/2 cup of frozen corn and added 1/8 tsp of cayenne for a little tingle on the lips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I thought this was really good! I was a little hesitant based on some of the reviews, but overall I thought it had great flavor. I did use a yellow pepper instead of green, tumeric instead of saffron, and extra salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Delicious. I added cumin, chili powder, sazon and cooked in all in one pan after browning the chicken. I added goya's adobe spice - wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This is a great one pan meal. I add cumin, diced green chili, and lime juice to mine. I also use cilantro in place of parsley, just because we love it. Really good with sliced avocado!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Made this last night and it turned out great! Definitely add the extras seasonings other reviewers talk about (cumin especially). And I used half of a green, red, and yellow pepper for more color. I also took the chicken out and put it back in when I put all the liquids in. Turned out perfect! And no one mentioned the other plus to this recipe - EASY CLEAN UP! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Tastes absolutely authentic. I have tried many variations of this dish and this one is one of the best. A less expensive alternative to saffron is sazon goya with tomato, available in the hispanic section of most grocery stores. I use beer instead of wine (the tradition in my Cuban family). I also used whole chicken breast tenders and left them in to boil with everything else. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States