Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Forgot the saffron at the store, but got some Mexican white queso and poured it over the dish. It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I'm a novice when it comes to cooking but I was able to make this one and it came out yummy. I served it to my girlfriend and her three kids and it was well received. BTW, I'm Italian descent so I don't have a long standing family tradition as to what is, "Arroz Con Pollo", so I could just accept this dish for what it is, good ingredients and flavors that is mostly healthy. :) Buon Appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Maitland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This recipe was delicious. I doubled the recipe to feed my large family, so I had to make it in a large pot. There ended up being too much liquid, but I skimmed some of it off and it was fine. I also substituted brown rice for the white rice to make it healthier, and used a combination of white meat and dark meat chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delicious! I left out the tomatoes and used red peppers instead of green. I also left the chicken in the entire time instead of taking it out and putting it back in. I had a little less than a cup of rice, so I was worried there'd be too much liquid at the end, but it was fine. I also steeped the saffron in the broth before adding to the mixture. Very tasty, and I'm sure a one dish meal on it's own, but we had some veggies and rolls with it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
the dish was blander than i expected. just didn't taste good. mourn the saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
**loved loved loved!** One of the best, well received recipes that I've ever made! Made with skinless bonless thighs and served over peas & it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
great starter, added a tin of chili tomatoes, 2 chorizo sausage, lime juice, oregano and cumin. sprinkled cheese over the top and served withe sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
authentic or not, this was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I'll sidestep the "is it authentic" debate since I've never eaten arroz con pollo before. I will say that I thought it was really good. As some suggested, I left the chicken in while the rice cooked. Some suggested adding peas near the end of the cooking time so I did, but I don't think they really added anything and I would probably leave them out if I made it again. Overall I thought it was a really tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Delicious, for once I got the rice done right...not overcooked and not undercooked. The family gobbled it up even though I to deal with a lot of substitutions since I didn't have all of the ingredients. Still turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States