Carol's Arroz Con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
this recipe has everything that i look for - versatility, ease of preparation, and it's good for you too! i had to make several changes based on what i had, and since i wasn't too concerned with making it a true "arroz con pollo" it didn't matter. i used all chicken broth (no wine), tomato sauce instead of stewed tomatoes, and 2 boneless chicken breasts. i added oregano, cumin, and used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. DELICIOUS! we really enjoyed this and i wil definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was a great meal. My fiancee likes his food very spicy, so I added 2 hot peppers. I also couldn't find saffron, so I substituted turmeric for the saffron. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This recipe is now going to be a staple in my house. Everything in it I already have on hand so it's perfect for nights that I don't have a lot of time. I've made this recipe as is and with some variations and it's great both ways. I've added 1/4 teaspoon cumin, 1 can sliced black olives and double the garlic. YUM! Thank you Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenlikescows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe to the tee. It did not taste like it does when I order it. I think I will try it again with a little of tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
So yummy - just like restaurant food. Healthy and cheap - we calculated $3.25 per serving. We will put this recipe into our regular rotation. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcqueenbee
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Made this for my cooking club where the theme was comfort food with a twist. The recipe on it own was a great, easy dish, however, I did make slight adjustments. I boiled my chicken in a dutch oven with adobo seasoning for an hour on low-medium then shredded the chicken. I placed the chicken on a paper plate then sauted the veggies, added the rice (which I used Vigo yellow rice), added two extra cloves of garlic and a tsp of cumin. When the rice had 5 minutes cooking time left I added the shredded chicken. After this, it was 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcqueenbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
My family just loved this. I followed the recipe exactly and it was spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is a latin dish and each latin country makes it in a different way. I did have before the Colombian version of this recipe and it was really good, it does not have any tomatoes so tha's why I omitted it. I cooked the rice by itself, sauted the onion/garlic/vegetables (carrots and red bell pepper) in a different pan and used leftover of a roasted chicken, this way the vegetables were nice and crispy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Made this on Cinco de Mayo for my husband and sister. It was quite good, and they absolutely loved it. I had planned on leftovers for the next night's dinner, but we only had enough for one lunch! I added cumin as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I could tell by reading this that it was going to be too bland for our taste, but a VERY GOOD jumping off point! For people who like more plain food, you will like this as written. I added 1/2ts each onion powder, cumin and chili powder and 1/4ts cayenne. Also, chopped up a stalk of celery, a whole vidalia onion, mushrooms. Threw it all in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours total. Halfway in I added a drained can of black beans and 1c frozen corn. Mixed 1tb Masa into 3/4c heavy cream and stirred it in. Served with sour cream, chopped avocado, tomato, squeezed lime juice over, salt and pepper... FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States