Caroling Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
delicious and always a hit - the juices make it not quite so potent. Simmers all day and makes the house smell wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I took this to a Christmas party last night where it was a big hit and didn't last long. I sliced the oranges after peeling them and added them to the Crock-pot which I used for keeping it warm. My husband thought that adding some brandy next time might be a nice addition. Either way, it's a winner with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYPRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made this for Halloween and called it my "Witches Brew." We loved it...great for our chilly Michigan evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
A major hit at my family's Thanksgiving get together, next year I will be making two batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
What a great recipe! So easy. It's a great way to use up that bottle of not so great wine but using a good, full bodied wine is even better. I also added some Grand Mariner and half the sugar. Very warming in the cold months and at friendly gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This recipe is excellent for a cold winter night and a gathering of good friends!! I tried it out on a group of women that get together once a month and it was the official drink for the next month as well. One of them used the recipe for a holiday party at her workplace and it was a smash there as well! This is an very smooth, sweet, warm drink to include at winter dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I served it during the holidays and my guests loved it. I used a cabernet sauvignon and kept it warm in my slow cooker. Thanks Bea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
The first time I made this I didn't follow directions, and I liked it better than the time I did. Instead of waiting to add the wine, I just threw the wine in together w/ the rest of the ingredients, and simmered it for about 1/2 an hour. It was less heady that way and could accommodate even the worst of red wines. Also, I put in entire orange wedges instead of orange rinds. Although I adjusted the water, sugar, and fruit juice for having only 3 cups of wine (thanks to the reviewer who said that 1 bottle = 3 cups), I kept the same amount of spices and oranges and left out the salt. Next time, I'd add even less sugar. It was a tad on the sweet side for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
A friend served this to our book club on a cold snowy night. It was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I make this for the holidays every year and put it in old wine bottles and mason jars as gifts. Everyone loves it hot or over ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Classic Wine Pairings

Discover wine and food matchups made in heaven.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States