Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Oh, this is good! Much better than the buttercream frostings I hear referred to so often. I used a double dose of this recipe to frost my first cake ever, a 4-layer devil's food cake, and it turned out very well. Everyone that had a piece absolutely adored it. I loved the frosting, especially. Even when the cake itself became dry, the frosting was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Wonderful! Half of this recipe is PLENTY for cupcakes. Also, I used much less milk than called for. Tip: Add the chocolate and butter while hot so it will melt the powdered sugar and not leave lumps. Stir well with a wired whisk. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This frosting is deelish! I frosted 24 cupcakes and almost an entire 9x13 cake. It's super easy and still 'home made'. I like the other reviewers only needed 1/2 C milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Great frosting. Perfect on cakes. I made one change - only used 1/2 cup milk and that gave me the perfect spreading consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Very fudgy and delicious icing. My husband requested a chocolate cake with fudge icing for his birthday and he was delighted with this icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I used this frosting with a dark chocolate cake, and it was outstanding! Very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This recipe is easy to make yet has the "homemade taste." I was skeptical at first when the chocolate did not blend well with the butter, but it all turned out delicious. This is a very good cupcake frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
EXCELLEEENNNNNNNNNT!!!!! I used this for a friend's 40th birthday cake and made 2 double batches. I was concerned that the consistency was too runny, but after 30 min. in fridge, it spread like a dream. This is the ONLY chocolate icing recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Great, easy fudgy frosting!! Remember to add only 1/2 cup of milk, and then only add enough more for your desired consistency(actually, mine was a little on the thin side, but by the time my cake cooled, the frosting had firmed up some). It was perfect, actually, I have had problems with other recipes seeming right, but after frosting the cake, it had gotten to hard. This icing stayed great even after a few days (normally all the cake would have been gone, but we went out of town for a few days).This is definatley the recipes I will always use now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Thank you for the most incredible frosting recipe EVER! I couldn't believe how easy this was...and the taste and texture are just wonderful. Really fudgy tasting. I even had to use skim milk and it was still rich and delicious. This will definitely be my staple chocolate/fudge frosting recipe! Thanks! Jen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States