Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I have been using this frosting recipe for almost 50 years! If you want a "bittersweet" frosting, leave off the vanilla. I do not add it anymore, and we like it better. Can easily add another square of chocolate for even fudgier frosting. I often halve the sugar & butter and use 2 sqs. of chocolate for 13X9 cakes. Save a lot of fat gms. and calories, and my husband never knows the difference. If you make a layer cake, you must use the full recipe. I usually need only 1/3 C milk for the right consistency. Whip the frosting on high for a couple of mins. to make it fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Wow...what an incredibly beautiful frosting! Smooth, shiny, spreadable, decadently fudgey and creamy, this is without a doubt one of the best chocolate fudge frostings ever. I used 4 ounces of fine quality chocolate and 1/2 cup milk and it was simply perfect, ready to spread after standing about 5-10 minutes. My only suggestion would be that while this is adequate for a 13x9" cake, my 2-layer cake could easily have used another half recipe, even a double recipe if decorated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This recipe is very close to the recipe printed on the Baker's unsweetened chocolate box. The Baker's recipe calls for an extra square of chocolate (4 oz. total) and 1/3 cup milk. When I saw the comments from other reviewers that it wasn't enough chocolate and too much milk I just went with the Baker's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Oh my goodness! This was the most phenomenal chocolate frosting I have ever made. Its the first one I made, not using cocoa powder, and I will never go back. I had to make a birthday cake for someone who loves chocolate - oh my, this one requires a big glass of milk alongside. I actually doubled the recipe to make sure I had enough to frost a layer cake, and I ended up only adding the first amount of milk because I thought it appeared too thin. As it began to set, it was just perfect. Once I had the layers frosted, I thinned out a portion to use for piping and decorating, because I was afraid it wouldn't come through the tip, and it was perfect. This is now my chocolate frosting recipe. And anyone who said it wasn't sweet enough is just crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Very good fudgy frosting, easy to make. But definitely have to WAIT for it to set before spreading or it will spread too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is the perfect chocolate frosting recipe. It is so flexible. I made a yellow sheet cake, and punched holes in the cake while it was hot. I made the frosting exactly as the recipe...using 1/2 cup of the milk. I then separated one cup of the frosting, added more milk for a thinner consistency, and poured this over the hot cake. The frosting ran in the holes. After the cake cooled, I frosted with the thicker frosting. It was HEAVEN SENT! Thank you for sharing the recipe Carrie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dawsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Overall, this recipe is very good, the frosting tasted wonderful on chocolate cake. The only bad thing I noticed was that it was a little bit thin and runny, even after it had cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Oh, this is good! Much better than the buttercream frostings I hear referred to so often. I used a double dose of this recipe to frost my first cake ever, a 4-layer devil's food cake, and it turned out very well. Everyone that had a piece absolutely adored it. I loved the frosting, especially. Even when the cake itself became dry, the frosting was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
What an incredibly smooth chocolately frosting! I used 3 - 1 oz. squares of Baker's semi-sweet chocolate plus 2 oz. of Hershey's dark chocolate. I only used 5 Tbsp. of milk to get the right consistency. It was perfect for Black Magic Cake from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
So yummy! I used it to frost the Black Chocolate Cake from this site (I made 2 9-in round layers) and this made PLENTY of icing (with leftovers) to frost the top, sides and a layer in between the two rounds. Looks and tastes great! I did use slightly less milk than the recipe called for and it set to a useable texture in about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States