Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Very good fudgy frosting, easy to make. But definitely have to WAIT for it to set before spreading or it will spread too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Oh, this is good! Much better than the buttercream frostings I hear referred to so often. I used a double dose of this recipe to frost my first cake ever, a 4-layer devil's food cake, and it turned out very well. Everyone that had a piece absolutely adored it. I loved the frosting, especially. Even when the cake itself became dry, the frosting was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Overall, this recipe is very good, the frosting tasted wonderful on chocolate cake. The only bad thing I noticed was that it was a little bit thin and runny, even after it had cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I used this frosting with a dark chocolate cake, and it was outstanding! Very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Great frosting. Perfect on cakes. I made one change - only used 1/2 cup milk and that gave me the perfect spreading consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Delightful! Smooth, creamy, and the chocolate flavor's not too intense, so it nicely compliments the deep dark chocolate cupcakes on which I used it. Just one recipe frosted 48 cupcakes. Honestly, I would characterize it as "fudgy," but it's definetly delicious. It gets four stars because of personal preference - I honestly missed the tanginess that cream cheese gives chocolate frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This recipe is easy to make yet has the "homemade taste." I was skeptical at first when the chocolate did not blend well with the butter, but it all turned out delicious. This is a very good cupcake frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
EXCELLEEENNNNNNNNNT!!!!! I used this for a friend's 40th birthday cake and made 2 double batches. I was concerned that the consistency was too runny, but after 30 min. in fridge, it spread like a dream. This is the ONLY chocolate icing recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Outstanding fudgy icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Wonderful! Half of this recipe is PLENTY for cupcakes. Also, I used much less milk than called for. Tip: Add the chocolate and butter while hot so it will melt the powdered sugar and not leave lumps. Stir well with a wired whisk. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States