Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
LOVED the consistency of this frosting! I did add a bit extra chocolate and some Godiva chocolate liqueur. AWESOME...this will be my goto recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
did not turn out like frosting at all; turned out like ganache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Good flavor but had to keep adding more and more sugar to get it to a consistency that did not run off the cake. If you want a chocolate glaze, this is a good recipe for that. If yo want something you can pipe or swirl, be ready to use more than one pound of confectioners' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I debated between giving this 5 or 4 stars. It makes a very good, very chocolately frosting, and sets up nicely; I made it exactly as written (I probably did not use all of the last 1/4 cup of milk, but most of it). It was plenty for a 9" 2-layer cake. The reason I thought about giving it a lower rating is because I was looking for a truly fudge-type frosting (with which I could frost a layer cake) - the fudge frosting recipes I found on this website called for a hot recipe, pouring it on a sheet cake and then letting it set. So I would call this a chocolate frosting, but not a chocolate fudge frosting. But it is definitely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This frosting recipe definitely has potential. It needs quite a bit of time to set so next time I will make this the day before I want to frost a cake. I will also try using less milk as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was a good bittersweet chocolate recipe, however it wasn't my favorite. I wish I had read the reviews first so that I could have put less milk in. It wasn't very firm, but that's what you get when you're in a hurry and you don't read the reviews!! I would use this again, but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
My heavens! This might be the real "death by chocolate!" I actually used 4 squares and only 3 cups powdered sugar, sifted. I put in 2 tsp. of vanilla and slowly added milk. When I had added about 1/4 cup of milk, the consistency was very chocolate truffle-ish, which made me think I should try this again, add less milk, and then refrigerate and make chocolate truffles rolled in cocoa or dipped in melted chocolate. I might kill people with the richness, but they would die happy. :) Anyway--added the rest of the milk, then spread on to a 9x13 warm cake. It looks delicious and is calling me as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
my guests liked it, but I thought it was too sweet and not chocolatey enough. I will keep looking for a chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Absolutely delicious and easy to make! Had to haggle with the kids for the remainders.Very chocolately and great for any recipe that calls for chocolate frosting.Picky people approved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Very yummy and rich! When I first put everything together I was very scared...it was runny and looked horrible, but the longer I whipped it up with my mixer the better it looked! Great for a rich chocolate icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States