Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I just made this recipe and it was inadequate. I followed what many of the reviews said about using less milk and it still had a viscosity very close to that of water and it was too sweet. I added a bit of corn starch and also used cocoa powder (instead of melted chocolate.) I plan on piping on top of it and that is not going to work very well. It now tastes fine, but that was after I improvised when I realized I needed more. I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this recipe following the directions exactly! It was very easy to make and delicious too! I used the frosting on some chocolate cupcakes that I took to a party. Everyone had lovely things to say about this tasty frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This was sooo good. I had to alter it to get it perfect, but still, this is a great base. I added some cocoa powder and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
BEST CHOCOLATE FROSTING, QUICK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Never thought I would hear my hubby say WOW this is the best! Very easy to make and was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I was so looking forward to this frosting, but it was a total disappointment. followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I doubled the recipe for 40 cupcakes, perfect after adding 1 more cup of powdered sugar. Excellent fudgey flavor and I used semi-sweet Baker's chocolate squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I'm not sure I would make this frosting again since I couldn't stop sampling it! I really like my buttercream frosting but when I realized I didn't have any cocoa, I started looking for a recipe using baker's chocolate. What is a cake? A vehicle for frosting! This is the best chocolate frosting I've made or eaten. YUM. One note: I only used half the milk and was fortunate to have extra powdered sugar on hand because it was initially not nearly thick enough. Next time I will start with about 1/4 of milk and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
It was ok. I thought it was extremely sweet. I don't frosting this sweet...and I usually like sweet. This a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
EXCELLENT! I omitted the vanilla extract and replaced the milk with coffee. SO RICH! I wanted a bit thicker texture but not slap-you-in-the-face sweetness, so instead of adding more sugar to thicken it I added 1 tablespoon of corn starch. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States