Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I was so looking forward to this frosting, but it was a total disappointment. followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I doubled the recipe for 40 cupcakes, perfect after adding 1 more cup of powdered sugar. Excellent fudgey flavor and I used semi-sweet Baker's chocolate squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I'm not sure I would make this frosting again since I couldn't stop sampling it! I really like my buttercream frosting but when I realized I didn't have any cocoa, I started looking for a recipe using baker's chocolate. What is a cake? A vehicle for frosting! This is the best chocolate frosting I've made or eaten. YUM. One note: I only used half the milk and was fortunate to have extra powdered sugar on hand because it was initially not nearly thick enough. Next time I will start with about 1/4 of milk and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
It was ok. I thought it was extremely sweet. I don't frosting this sweet...and I usually like sweet. This a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
EXCELLENT! I omitted the vanilla extract and replaced the milk with coffee. SO RICH! I wanted a bit thicker texture but not slap-you-in-the-face sweetness, so instead of adding more sugar to thicken it I added 1 tablespoon of corn starch. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
LOVED IT! I used 1/2 cup of milk which was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this for my mama and daddy's 50th anniversary and it was awesome. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I love, love this recipe - the frosting rocked! I followed the other reviewers suggestions and used 4 squares of chocolate and 1/2 cup of milk...FABULOUS! My only mistake was not putting this delicious frosting on homemade cupcakes...I used a box (and while it was great and everyone loved the cupcakes) this frosting deserves a more decadent foundation : )...a nice dense, homemade cake or cupcakes (IMO). Thanks You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I just licked the bowl! This is the best chocolate frosting I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Excellent recipe! Very fudgy and chocolatey, just like the title indicates! I don't keep unsweetened chocolate squares around much so I just used the substitution for cocoa and butter (1T butter to 3T cocoa). SO rich and decadent and beautifully creamy... mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States