Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I doubled the recipe for 40 cupcakes, perfect after adding 1 more cup of powdered sugar. Excellent fudgey flavor and I used semi-sweet Baker's chocolate squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I'm not sure I would make this frosting again since I couldn't stop sampling it! I really like my buttercream frosting but when I realized I didn't have any cocoa, I started looking for a recipe using baker's chocolate. What is a cake? A vehicle for frosting! This is the best chocolate frosting I've made or eaten. YUM. One note: I only used half the milk and was fortunate to have extra powdered sugar on hand because it was initially not nearly thick enough. Next time I will start with about 1/4 of milk and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
It was ok. I thought it was extremely sweet. I don't frosting this sweet...and I usually like sweet. This a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
EXCELLENT! I omitted the vanilla extract and replaced the milk with coffee. SO RICH! I wanted a bit thicker texture but not slap-you-in-the-face sweetness, so instead of adding more sugar to thicken it I added 1 tablespoon of corn starch. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
LOVED IT! I used 1/2 cup of milk which was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this for my mama and daddy's 50th anniversary and it was awesome. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I love, love this recipe - the frosting rocked! I followed the other reviewers suggestions and used 4 squares of chocolate and 1/2 cup of milk...FABULOUS! My only mistake was not putting this delicious frosting on homemade cupcakes...I used a box (and while it was great and everyone loved the cupcakes) this frosting deserves a more decadent foundation : )...a nice dense, homemade cake or cupcakes (IMO). Thanks You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I just licked the bowl! This is the best chocolate frosting I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Excellent recipe! Very fudgy and chocolatey, just like the title indicates! I don't keep unsweetened chocolate squares around much so I just used the substitution for cocoa and butter (1T butter to 3T cocoa). SO rich and decadent and beautifully creamy... mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I first tried it with castor sugar but it didn't work out well at first, but then if you heat it all up and add a bit of cocoa powder it's really good too! Which is great because our stores have a big icing sugar shortage for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States