Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
The taste of this "frosting" is great. I'm completely baffled by its consistency, however -- it came out like a ganache even after an hour in the fridge. How long does "let stand" mean? **IF** I try this frosting again, I will add milk by the tablespoon and go from there. I can see this working fine on brownies or a 9x13 -- something that doesn't come out of the pan. But I tried it with cupcakes and found it far too runny. I followed the recipe exactly, using the converter to halve the quantities (I did leave out the vanilla). Still looking for that perfect chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Mine did not set up AT ALL, lol. It looked like a beautiful ganache instead. I'm guessing I simply did not add enough confectioners sugar, (1 lb.). I thought one lb. was a lot, but obviously it didn't go far enough. Next time, I think I'll do the lb., but then keep adding and adding. Waiting to have it set up, like the recipe says, is a little confusing. But, I'll have to just keep on experimenting. Tasted WONDERFUL, set up or not. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
So sweet & yummy, but way too thin. I followed the suggestions and cut the milk in half and let it rest, but it was still way to thin. I literally poured it on my cake. Luckily I had made the cake in a 9x13 pan, so it wasn't really a problem, but it would have been a disaster for cupcakes or a layer cake. Because it was so yummy, I am going to attempt it once more and use even less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I think it was too much milk, even after adding more sugar still not the right consistency for what I had in mind. Also added another square bringing the total to 4, still not chocolatey enough, comes out looking like milk chocolate rather than a dark chocolate. Taste just ok in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
While I have a lot to learn about cake decorating I can certainly slather on frosting and shake on sprinkles. As other reviewers suggested I used 4 oz. of chocolate and 1/2 cup of milk in this frosting. It was perfect paired with David's Yellow Cake from this site. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
It tastes very good but at room temperature it just runs right off. It slipped right off the cupcakes I made after fully cooling. I had to add a bunch of ingredients to thicken it. I was very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Quite good. An extra square of choc and some cocoa powder didn't hurt. Leave it at 1/2 c milk and the consistency is just right. Kind of fluffy and moist, not too fudgy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Delicious frosting, made it for a yellow cake!!! Made extra to store for the next cake, it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I did not have the chocolate squares so made them out of cocoa and oil. Only used 1/2 cup milk as per other suggestions, but this was still a runny type frosting. I kept adding XXX sugar until it thickened some, but was still runnier than I would have like. It is very, very sweet. I had plenty to ice two loaf cakes that I cut in half and frosted the middles too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I did EXACTLY how the recipe said to make it. I let it set. It did not get hard. Tasted it. Something wrong. Did not taste like fudge frosting. Never did set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States