Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
So sweet & yummy, but way too thin. I followed the suggestions and cut the milk in half and let it rest, but it was still way to thin. I literally poured it on my cake. Luckily I had made the cake in a 9x13 pan, so it wasn't really a problem, but it would have been a disaster for cupcakes or a layer cake. Because it was so yummy, I am going to attempt it once more and use even less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I think it was too much milk, even after adding more sugar still not the right consistency for what I had in mind. Also added another square bringing the total to 4, still not chocolatey enough, comes out looking like milk chocolate rather than a dark chocolate. Taste just ok in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
While I have a lot to learn about cake decorating I can certainly slather on frosting and shake on sprinkles. As other reviewers suggested I used 4 oz. of chocolate and 1/2 cup of milk in this frosting. It was perfect paired with David's Yellow Cake from this site. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
It tastes very good but at room temperature it just runs right off. It slipped right off the cupcakes I made after fully cooling. I had to add a bunch of ingredients to thicken it. I was very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Quite good. An extra square of choc and some cocoa powder didn't hurt. Leave it at 1/2 c milk and the consistency is just right. Kind of fluffy and moist, not too fudgy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Delicious frosting, made it for a yellow cake!!! Made extra to store for the next cake, it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I did not have the chocolate squares so made them out of cocoa and oil. Only used 1/2 cup milk as per other suggestions, but this was still a runny type frosting. I kept adding XXX sugar until it thickened some, but was still runnier than I would have like. It is very, very sweet. I had plenty to ice two loaf cakes that I cut in half and frosted the middles too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I did EXACTLY how the recipe said to make it. I let it set. It did not get hard. Tasted it. Something wrong. Did not taste like fudge frosting. Never did set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
The best ever chocolate frosting! I used unsweetened cocoa 3TBS Cocoa + 1 TBS Oil = 1 square & left out the vanilla. Once it sits for about 3 to 5 minutes the consistency is perfect, smooth, creamy and not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I just made this recipe and it was inadequate. I followed what many of the reviews said about using less milk and it still had a viscosity very close to that of water and it was too sweet. I added a bit of corn starch and also used cocoa powder (instead of melted chocolate.) I plan on piping on top of it and that is not going to work very well. It now tastes fine, but that was after I improvised when I realized I needed more. I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States