Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Holy smokes- I'll never use any other chocolate frosting recipe again; sooooo easy, soooooo decadent and pretty. I used 4 oz of chocolate, and needed no more than 1/2 cup milk (and after some internet investigating, found that 1 lb powd. sugar is equal to 4 cups). Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great consistency, great taste! thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dmg2000
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was the most amazing chocolate frosting ever!! I followed it exactly, needing only the 1/2 cup milk minimum. It was more than enough for a box mix of cupcakes, so I refrigerated the leftovers to use later (on this site's pumpkin brownies--yum!). I ate some cold after it had refrigerated a week and it tasted just like fudge--my kids and I were eating spoonfuls of it! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Well, I wish I had read the reviews before attempting this. I made a double batch so I could frost 30 cupcakes and a two layer cake. I ended up with chocolate soup. Seriously...why on earth has this recipe not been corrected? I tried to thicken it up with more sugar and...yuck. Started over and used 1/4 cup milk. This time it was perfect. I'd give it 5 stars if it didn't ask for 3x the amount of milk needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This frosting is fabulous in taste, consistency and looks. I use 3 squares unsweetened chocolate, 4 cups sifted confectioner's sugar and I sift in 3/4 to 1 cup of cocoa powder to give a richer chocolate flavor. The unsweetened chocolate and cocoa powder reduce the sweetness to a reasonable level. I have used almond flavoring instead of vanilla to change it up. Plenty to frost two 9 inch rounds including in between the layers. I have used this recipe several times and will keep using it. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bobolynn
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
There isn't really anything else to ask for in a chocolate frosting. This is going to be my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Not grainy, just super fudgey! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I use 4 c powdered sugar, 1/2 c milk. This is a good icing, sometimes a little too sweet though. I'll keep playing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Excellent, delicious frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great frosting! Easy to spread or pipe onto cupcakes. I tried it on a sour cream chocolate cake (which is not too sweet) and it was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States