Caroline and Brian's Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
These are scrumptuous even with the bread crumbs left out (for a low-carb main dish)! If you do decide to go that route, cut down a little bit on the cayenne and black pepper. The abscence of the bread crumbs concentrates the stuffing spices. Also, I added 3 more sausage links and it was filling and wonderful. I was only able to purchase the mushroom caps without the stems, so I just chopped up a medium-sized cap in place of the stems; it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Way to much pepper in recipe. It was waaay too spicy and tasted only of pepper. Only a pinch would be recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I made these as an appetizer for dinner guests - not only did they all love them, one asked for the recipe. They are easy to make and were a delightful side item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLCHIPMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This is by far the best stuffed mushroom recipe around! I always get rave reviews from friends and family when I make these delicious mushrooms! They have become a favorite appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I made these for a pot luck at work and they turned out wonderful! Everyone complimented on them and asked for the recipe. Being a garlic lover, I added a bit more garlic than called for. They were easy to make/ clean up and I definitely recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
So tasty--and not that difficult to do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This is a delicious recipe! I used baby bellas (about 10) because my grocery store did not have whole portabellos. I think next time I will try a little more flavorful sausage...I also used Italian flavored bread crumbs (progresso...99 cents!!) and it gave an interesting twist! I highly recommend this recipe. I could have just eaten the filling by itself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyOlives

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Candler, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe--the flavor of the sausage and garlic combines very well with the texture and tang of the cream cheese. I find that shortening the cooking time to 10-12 minutes actually saves the portobello from drying up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Fortunately I halved the amount of pepper called for, but still the recipe tasted only of pepper. Why would anyone spend $7/lb on portobellos to totally disguise the flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
I had a dinner party for 22 people and this was the biggest hit! it was absolutely delicious... i used more garlic than the recipe called for and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States