Caroline and Brian's Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
My husband and I made this recipe and we plan to make it as an appetizer for our next get-together. My children loved it too! The only change we made was the type of sausage - we had ground sausage on hand so used that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
VERY yummy! I made mine using the large portabello caps. Used 3 links of mild Italian turkey sausage, browned in pan, and 5 cloves of garlic put through the garlic press. Also substituted fresh ground chipotle pepper for the cayenne, and used panko bread crumbs. Served it as a main dish with a salad and some fresh bread - awesome meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I use onion flavored sausage whenever I make these. They never last long and I always have to make a second batch they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I used venison sausage instead of the turkey and it was amazing! Hubby is already asking when I'm making another batch, a winner here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were fantastic...with mods. I drastically cut down on the cayenne and pepper, and they still had a kick. I topped each 'shroom with a bit of butter and drizzled olive oil on them before baking, and I also used some butter in the stuffing mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza Sklar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
VERY SPICY but delicious. I used turkey breakfast links and sauted the links with garlic. I used a food processor to mix everything together and stored it in the fridge overnight. I also decreased the cook time to 12 minutes and broiled it for a few minutes in the end. I love spicy food so I of course loved the recipe but if you do not LOVE cayenne and pepper, you need to decrease the amounts. Very filling and tasty, a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is awesome! I made these for a cocktail party last night along with several other appetisers (I used baby bellas). These were the first to disappear. So perfect, I will share this recipe with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJnicespice
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Made the following changes: Used spicy sausage, shallots instead of garlic, didn't have cream cheese substituted homemade cajun mayo. Absolutely delicious with a nice flavor and a slight kick. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJnicespice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I stuck to the recipe as best as I could. After browning the one link of mild Italian sausage, I added the chopped mushroom stems, minced shallots, and garlic. I added Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes. Instead of bread crumbs, I used crushed Saltines. For the cream cheese, I found I needed about 4 oz. of plain cream cheese, and also added a few tablespoons of whipped chive cream cheese. I threw in a handful of shredded parmesan, stuffed my button mushrooms and baked in a mini muffin pan at 400 degrees for 12 minutes. Fantastic! I honestly didn't think that one link would be enough- but it was plenty. I still have enough stuffing left over to fill at least a dozen more. UPDATE: I froze my leftover stuffing and unthawed it today. I stuffed two portobellos with it and topped with parmesean cheese. It was still wonderful. I definitely recommend making extra stuffing to freeze for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
We cooked the sausage with the garlic and the breadcrumbs in the pan and didn't "rest" the mixture before mixing it with the cream cheese and parmesan. We also omitted the cayenne so that it wouldn't overpower the taste of the mushrooms. Additionally, we only cooked them for 12 minutes. It was VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States