Caroline and Brian's Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe has become a party standard for me. I changed a couple of things that really improved it for my needs. I used little baby 'bella shrooms so that this makes a great bite-sized hor dourves. I sub the on large turkey link with several small turkey breakfast links, cooked and chopped. I roll the stuffing into balls and pop it into the baby 'bellas. Then I roll the tops of each one in shredded Romano cheese. Even non-mushroom eaters seem to love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
I had a dinner party for 22 people and this was the biggest hit! it was absolutely delicious... i used more garlic than the recipe called for and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This is a delicious recipe! I used baby bellas (about 10) because my grocery store did not have whole portabellos. I think next time I will try a little more flavorful sausage...I also used Italian flavored bread crumbs (progresso...99 cents!!) and it gave an interesting twist! I highly recommend this recipe. I could have just eaten the filling by itself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyOlives

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Candler, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe--the flavor of the sausage and garlic combines very well with the texture and tang of the cream cheese. I find that shortening the cooking time to 10-12 minutes actually saves the portobello from drying up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
These are scrumptuous even with the bread crumbs left out (for a low-carb main dish)! If you do decide to go that route, cut down a little bit on the cayenne and black pepper. The abscence of the bread crumbs concentrates the stuffing spices. Also, I added 3 more sausage links and it was filling and wonderful. I was only able to purchase the mushroom caps without the stems, so I just chopped up a medium-sized cap in place of the stems; it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Read

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Way to much pepper in recipe. It was waaay too spicy and tasted only of pepper. Only a pinch would be recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Fortunately I halved the amount of pepper called for, but still the recipe tasted only of pepper. Why would anyone spend $7/lb on portobellos to totally disguise the flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
The recipe was overall ok, the mushrooms turned out a little dry for my taste. Make sure the cream cheese is very soft!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I made these for a pot luck at work and they turned out wonderful! Everyone complimented on them and asked for the recipe. Being a garlic lover, I added a bit more garlic than called for. They were easy to make/ clean up and I definitely recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I stuck to the recipe as best as I could. After browning the one link of mild Italian sausage, I added the chopped mushroom stems, minced shallots, and garlic. I added Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes. Instead of bread crumbs, I used crushed Saltines. For the cream cheese, I found I needed about 4 oz. of plain cream cheese, and also added a few tablespoons of whipped chive cream cheese. I threw in a handful of shredded parmesan, stuffed my button mushrooms and baked in a mini muffin pan at 400 degrees for 12 minutes. Fantastic! I honestly didn't think that one link would be enough- but it was plenty. I still have enough stuffing left over to fill at least a dozen more. UPDATE: I froze my leftover stuffing and unthawed it today. I stuffed two portobellos with it and topped with parmesean cheese. It was still wonderful. I definitely recommend making extra stuffing to freeze for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States