Carolina Style Low Carb Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The reviewers saying this does not taste like barbecue sauce probably have a narrow definition of barbecue sauce and only know the Kansas City-style tangy tomato-based sauce and other tomato-based styles. The South Carolina style of barbecue sauce is traditionally a mustard-based sauce. Eastern North Carolina and Middle Tennessee tend to have vinegar-based sauces. This is a great South Carolina-style sauce, particularly for a low-carb version. As with most barbecue sauces from the South, the classic use is with pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
On a low carb diet--I love it! Thanks for sharing it with the rest of the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Great Sauce!!! The hardest thing about low carbing is not having good sauces, this will help a lot. Great on both pork and beef ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was wonderful! The thing I did differently was add chopped onions to it. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I love this barbecue sauce! My hubby and I love everything spicy and this one fits the bill. Love the underlying smoky flavor and next time I might try exchanging chipotle chile powder for the plan chile powder - not that it needs to be improved. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micpsy12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This the best low carb BBQ sauce recipe I've come across. I made it to go with pulled pork for a family get-together & everyone went nuts! We are usually a tomato-based BBQ family but since we've gone low carb, this will be our #1 choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathiKrall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Please note, this is not a tomato based barbecue sauce. this is a sauce representing the South Carolina mustard barbecue sauce. this is a good recipe of a low carb sauce, it will never be a sticky sweet Memphis style sauce or a Kansas city style, both which are based on tomatoes. In the USA there are four distinct style of BBQ. if you would like to know more about this Wikipedia has a good article.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This tastes like sweet vinegary mustard. I wouldn't call it "barbecue sauce" at all, although it might be good as a basting sauce for the grill. However, I wanted to use this to add to pulled pork, and it wouldn't have served that purpose. If you make this and feel like you just wasted a bunch of ingredients, I'll share what I did to save it. I added 1/4 cup water, 1 small can of tomato paste, and a TBSP of paprika. It is still tangy and strong, and you can still taste the strong mustard influence. However, it has more of a traditional "barbecue sauce" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Really yummy! Made a 1/2 recipe and used brown sugar instead of splenda. (not low carb, but tasty!) Used it in the Texas BBQ chicken quesadilla recipe as was suggested by GodivaGirl. Kids LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemlock, Indiana, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe may me sign up! It's a great BBQ sauce, forget low carb or no. I have had Carolina sauce before and it is nothing like mustard. Delicious! We did add a bit less Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States