Carolina Style Low Carb Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I made this sauce last night with New Mexico chile powder and Xylitol (a natural low carb sweetener made from birch trees) instead of Splenda. I wasn't sure about the flavor since the vinegar was very strong, but WOW!! After the sauce sat overnight in the fridge, I basted my pressure cooked baby back ribs with it and then baked the ribs for another 15 minutes -- the ribs were perfectly cooked (only 32 minutes total!) and the sauce was fantastic! Tangy sweet with a nice kick! I will be making this sauce often - can't wait to try it on chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Semola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Used stevia instead of Splenda. Used about half as much and could have even used less. It was absolutely delicious. Will be using again! Didn't let sit overnight and would only get better if I had. Was perfect over bbq'd chicken legs and thighs. Brushed on after cooking and let cook a few minutes extra. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Don Ensminger
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Delicious, simple recipe to follow. I could not locate White Pepper so I doubled the Black pepper. In keeping with the health benefits I used Splenda/Fiber; not sure if any fiber remained after simmering but figured couldn't hurt. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Ensminger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is great for a low carb option. I did find it a bit spicy in a mouth puckering kind of way, but it it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Oh wow, I'm totally jumping on the 5 star bandwagon with this one. As has been mentioned by many reviewers, one of the most difficult parts of living on a low carb diet is the lack of decent sauces. This one is PERFECT! My husband can't stop raving about it! Only change I made was using black pepper rather than white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Tasty and tangy - a great barbecue sauce! I'm from Virginia, so I'm used to the usual tomato barbecue sauces and I *adore* North Carolina vinegar sauces, but this was my first time trying a South Carolina mustard-based sauce. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Fabulous as is!! I love mustard sauces and since I started low carb needed something that would be low in sugar but good on all meats. This is it! I am baking chicken currently that is smothered in this sauce and have more in the fridge. Will be using it a lot! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I haven't even waited for it to cool down yet, and this has already revitalized my relationship with Dr. Atkins. This is phenomenal stuff. Thank you! P.S. I only did one tweak-- chipotle instead of cayenne and a half teaspoon of it instead of a quarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Delicious:D Used white balsamic vinegar instead of cider vinegar. I cooked it all together and used it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This sauce is wonderful. I did sweeten it up to make it more palatable for the kids but it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States