Carolina Style Low Carb Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
WoW! I was looking for a low carb/low sugar bbq sauce and this one is fantastic. It is a mustard based sauce versus a traditional bbq sauce & both my husband & I loved it! Don't get me wrong, I still love the tomato based sauces as well :) We had it mixed with leftover pulled pork and put it over brown rice. Yum! Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This sauce is amazing! Being diabetic and a Texan, going without BBQ sauce is a challenge! This mustard based sauce is the perfect answer! I made it up and immediately put it in the crock pot with chicken breasts and made pulled chicken. So, so yummy and flavorful! Thanks for posting. I will make this sauce over and over and try it with many different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Not your typical bbq sauce but a wonderful substitute if your carb cobscience. I've been watching my carbs for a few weeks and adding this sauce to my high protien dishes is a savior! Tangy, spicy and delish! Used on pulled pork but would go great with grilled chicken, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I could drink this straight, that is how good it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is one of the best sauces I have ever had. It dose not lack any flavor. I only made one substitution, I used 1/4 cup of sugar instead of splenda. This is my FAVORITE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I don't think I've ever left a review before now, but this is truly a WOW! experience for me. Only a few changes: I used spicy brown mustard and left off the liquid smoke as I didn't have either. I'm going to keep a bottle of this prepped in my fridge, way better than store bought. I used it immediately after making it, can't wait to see what it is like when the flavors have blended overnight! Oh, and it makes a lot! I halved the recipe and still only used about half for a rack of ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyreese Joseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I mashed sweet potatoes, topped them with a spoonful of orange marmalade, topped that with sliced, roasted pork tenderloin, then drizzled this sauce over all. My husband RAVED about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Excellent...taste like South Carolina sauce to me and is still good for my diet......two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zinshop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The reviewers saying this does not taste like barbecue sauce probably have a narrow definition of barbecue sauce and only know the Kansas City-style tangy tomato-based sauce and other tomato-based styles. The South Carolina style of barbecue sauce is traditionally a mustard-based sauce. Eastern North Carolina and Middle Tennessee tend to have vinegar-based sauces. This is a great South Carolina-style sauce, particularly for a low-carb version. As with most barbecue sauces from the South, the classic use is with pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States