Carolina Style Low Carb Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This tastes like sweet vinegary mustard. I wouldn't call it "barbecue sauce" at all, although it might be good as a basting sauce for the grill. However, I wanted to use this to add to pulled pork, and it wouldn't have served that purpose. If you make this and feel like you just wasted a bunch of ingredients, I'll share what I did to save it. I added 1/4 cup water, 1 small can of tomato paste, and a TBSP of paprika. It is still tangy and strong, and you can still taste the strong mustard influence. However, it has more of a traditional "barbecue sauce" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Really yummy! Made a 1/2 recipe and used brown sugar instead of splenda. (not low carb, but tasty!) Used it in the Texas BBQ chicken quesadilla recipe as was suggested by GodivaGirl. Kids LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemlock, Indiana, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe may me sign up! It's a great BBQ sauce, forget low carb or no. I have had Carolina sauce before and it is nothing like mustard. Delicious! We did add a bit less Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Interesting... my husband said it taste like a good fancy mustard. I agree, it was not like barbeque sauce. Maybe because I knew how much mustard went it I just couldn't get my mind to taste barbeque. But 3 stars for something different anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Thanks for submitting this recipe. It's definitely a keeper. I had to leave out the Smoke as I did not have any in stock. This sauce is strong in flavor. A little goes a long way. I think that this would serve more than 6 servings. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Totally awesome. I added a pinch more cayenne to give it a little more kick, Thanks so much for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charleston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
can you say AWESOME!?!?!! I needed a bbq sauce to use in the Texas Chicken quesadilla recipe so I decided to try a red sweet sauce and a mustard savory sauce. This was a winner hands down. I will be making this sauce again to try on chicken, steak and ribs on the grill this summer. This would be good on sandwiches too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Great tasting barbecue sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This had a nice, different flavor to it. I had made it for a cousin who was on a strict carb intake and we all liked it. Its not a traditional bbq sauce...the color is kind of funky,my kids wouldnt eat it. but it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEESA2YOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
We live low carb and this is by far the best low carb sauce recipe that I have run across. My husband just loves it. I often mix it up and throw in some boiled or grilled chicken without even allowing it to sit overnight and it's wonderful. We always keep a jar in the refrigerator. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Very Popular BBQ Sauce

This homemade BBQ sauce is a little bit sweet, a little bit spicy, and a whole lo

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States