Carolina-Style Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Good, but needed a bit more liquid and a bit more sweetness to counter the tart. Really nice on the pork, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifermo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT,EXCELLENT!! Basted this on this Chef's Pork Chop receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lake Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Excellent! It turned out a little too "hot" for me, so I added a little apple sauce at the last minute, but it has fabulous flavor! Used it on Chef John's grilled pork chops - so moist & delicious! You've GOT to try this! Easy & well worth the time. (oh - I 1/2'd the salt in the brine of the chops, but could still taste it...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
i was a little worried when i was making this as it smelled really vinegary (and i love vinegar) but it came out great on the molasses brined pork chops! however, non-vinegar lovers beware - this might not be the sauce for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: W├╝rzburg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this today I doubled the recipe and it came out great, just what I was looking for and so easy to make! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmymore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Used on his brined pork chops and tuna steaks. Good on both. I thought the pork was a bit salty from the brine even after rinsing the meat before cooking. Sauce smelled of vinegar but did not taste like vinegar after grilling. I did not use all the hot pepper flakes, just sounded like a bit much. Used about half and thought it was hot enough. It was good enough I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This ended up great but was too vinegary initially so I had to add more sugars to smooth it out. In the end, it was awesome with pork chops! I used the molasses brine for the chops: tennnnnnder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great for when you want something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WFVIDAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Whew, can only say that a tablespoon each of red pepper flakes and black pepper made this way too hot for this house! We're about in the middle on spicy foods, and my gut was telling me that this was going to be too hot, but I hate to modify a recipe too much the first time through. The reviews were Interesting, too, because the spiciness didn't seem to be as much of an issue as the strong vinegar flavor...maybe we really are wimps! I had no issue with the vinegar, this is "Carolina-style" which traditionally has more of a potent vinegar flavor. Unless you like your food smokin' hot, I'd recommend that you start with a teaspoon, taste, and then add more red pepper flakes and black pepper as you see fit. You can always add more, but once it's in there, you can't take it out. I had a container of Kaluha Pig in the freezer, so I added this sauce for some pulled-pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Wow. Spicy! Too spicy. I added apple sauce at the end to deal with the spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States