Carolina Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Wow, after reading the other reviews maybe I did something wrong because these came out WONDERFUL for me. They are amazingly similar in taste to the filling of restaurant style "stuffed crab" or "stuffed fish". I didn't change a thing (but my potatoes were small). Good job, Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I'll rate this as a five. I think the person who gave you 1 but wanted to give you a zero.was not very accurate in the review. I tried it and I have no idea what this person was talking about. I suspect it was not made according to directions. We all at some time add an ingredient twice so I would suspect this is what happened.Of course it coould have been the temperature. Leanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I used talapia because we had it in our freezer and I thought this would disguise the taste of fish that I don't like, and it totally worked! This recipe tastes as good as restaurant crab cakes. One of the best on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
We love these cakes. I have made them many times, adjusting ingredients according to our tastes. E.g., more Old Bay. It's a great recipe particularly for those who are O.K., but not nuts, about fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I loved it as a base recipe. I added flour to the amount required to bond nicely. Not sure why the person that gave that low rating, it's pretty easy to correct the texture if it is too sticky...rule of thumb..never follow recipe too closely..adjust as needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAYITT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2000
These are pretty tasty. My kids loved them and so did my husband. I would recomend these to anyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
This receipe is best prepared fried, but baked in the oven is certainly not bad. Really enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was awesome! I used a large leftover tilapia fillet and cut the ingredients in half, ending up with four patties. (I think I liked the tilapia better here than I did in the original recipe.) Mindful of some other reviewers' feedback about stickiness, I used a single Yukon gold potato, which I thought would have a creamier consistency than other types of spuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The recipe called for cooked cod so I baked it with chopped garlic, capers, lemon juice, and pepper. I also added paprika and cornmeal to the flour. It was supberb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My family LOVED these. I didn't have the Old Bay seasoning, so i used 1/4 tsp of paprika, sweet basil, and garlic. Along with a 1/4 tsp and a pinch more of seasoned salt. Added a little more parmesan (they are cheese freaks lol) and used carrots instead of the red and green peppers, as we were out of those. My father-in-law said "You can make these ANYtime you want!" YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keengg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alachua, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States