Carolina Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Wow, after reading the other reviews maybe I did something wrong because these came out WONDERFUL for me. They are amazingly similar in taste to the filling of restaurant style "stuffed crab" or "stuffed fish". I didn't change a thing (but my potatoes were small). Good job, Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I used talapia because we had it in our freezer and I thought this would disguise the taste of fish that I don't like, and it totally worked! This recipe tastes as good as restaurant crab cakes. One of the best on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
This receipe is best prepared fried, but baked in the oven is certainly not bad. Really enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I loved it as a base recipe. I added flour to the amount required to bond nicely. Not sure why the person that gave that low rating, it's pretty easy to correct the texture if it is too sticky...rule of thumb..never follow recipe too closely..adjust as needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Say It

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I would have rated it a zero if the scale would have allowed it. May be okay if you like adhesives. This stuff was so sticky you could have used it to glue a battleship to the side of a building. Prep time was longer than stated. Tasted plain. I'd suggest losing the flour and replacing it with moist bread crumbs and using eggs (or egg whites) in place of the milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2000
These are pretty tasty. My kids loved them and so did my husband. I would recomend these to anyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This could have turned out better. I also had a problem with stickiness with this dish. I think it was because I had the wrong ratio of potatoes to fish. I did use two potatoes, but I guess they were larger than the recipe posters were. I think I'll try this again sometime, with less potatoes. I did add more spicy seasonings and I am glad I did. Once I got past forming this into patties and baking them, it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
My family and I enjoyed this recipe. I will make it again, though I found the recipe to be a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These were very good. I used a mixture of leftover smoked fish that included salmon, steelhead trout and pike. I subbed asiago for the parmesan and left out the flour entirely because it didn't make sense to me as an ingredient. The texture was great and I had no trouble forming cakes. This time I baked them but I may try it again frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWGARDENER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
We love these cakes. I have made them many times, adjusting ingredients according to our tastes. E.g., more Old Bay. It's a great recipe particularly for those who are O.K., but not nuts, about fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States