Carolina Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made two batches of these for Christmas. The flavor is excellent. The mixture was a bit too damp so I cut the milk in half when I made it the second time. Excellent fish cakes. Will make again. Thank you Becky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I thought this recipe was amazing! I did change a few things, I left out the green pepper (cause I just didn't have any) and added sauteed garlic, lemon pepper and a good squeeze of lime. I also added only enough mashed potato to keep the cakes from falling apart, and they were not overly sticky when I was forming them. I'll absolutely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
A most excellent use for leftover fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was great. Had some left over tilapia this was a great way to use it. Everyone enjoyed these cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I used leftover baked whiting and a can of tuna. Tooo sticky to roll in bread crumbs..used a scoop and then put in silicon cupcake holders and baked in muffin pan. These were delish with a sauce I made up..mayo,dark mustard,lemon juice and honey!! Fab! Would make again & try something different for the stickiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These were very good. I used a mixture of leftover smoked fish that included salmon, steelhead trout and pike. I subbed asiago for the parmesan and left out the flour entirely because it didn't make sense to me as an ingredient. The texture was great and I had no trouble forming cakes. This time I baked them but I may try it again frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWGARDENER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My family LOVED these. I didn't have the Old Bay seasoning, so i used 1/4 tsp of paprika, sweet basil, and garlic. Along with a 1/4 tsp and a pinch more of seasoned salt. Added a little more parmesan (they are cheese freaks lol) and used carrots instead of the red and green peppers, as we were out of those. My father-in-law said "You can make these ANYtime you want!" YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keengg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alachua, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The recipe called for cooked cod so I baked it with chopped garlic, capers, lemon juice, and pepper. I also added paprika and cornmeal to the flour. It was supberb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Really tastey. When we cooked the fish, we did it in butter and old bay. Also, we used trigger fish as opposed to cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was awesome! I used a large leftover tilapia fillet and cut the ingredients in half, ending up with four patties. (I think I liked the tilapia better here than I did in the original recipe.) Mindful of some other reviewers' feedback about stickiness, I used a single Yukon gold potato, which I thought would have a creamier consistency than other types of spuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States