Carolina Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this with 2 cans of salmon, doubled the spices and eyeballed the veggies. I baked the 1st batch, which was very tender & hard to flip over. Still had enough mix for 8 more, which I left mixed in the fridge overnight. Next day, I added dry onion, cumin & sprinkled with baking mix. I used a full-sized ice cream scoop to put them in panko crumbs + a little brown sugar, flattened a bit & put them on a foil-lined pan sprayed heavily with non-stick. Sprayed the tops, too. Baked in the toaster oven @ 375* on convection, turning over when 1/2 way done. Delicious! I will never make "plain" salmon patties again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is GREAT! I've never really had fish cakes, just crab cakes but I liked the idea so I thought I'd try it with a little leftover cod. I made it according to the recipe the first time, all seasonings and baking. The second I tweaked it a little and it was AWESOME! Tweaks: Double the seasoning - Old Bay, mustard, and Parmesan. Halve the flour and add an egg. When it seemed a bit sticky I added a bit of bread crumbs, just enough to take care of the 'stick'. I formed the cakes, chilled for 10-15 minutes, then pan fried in olive oil and butter until browned. My 3 year old mixed up some tartar sauce - mayo, sweet relish, lemon juice and onion. Chill this for as long as possible before serving. Serve as warm as possible w/ lemon juice and tartar sauce and you will get compliments, they will all be gone and you will have to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Big hit at our house! Kids loved it and so did we! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Very tasty! Confused about the 2 potatoes (size?) so used one 8oz. A great recipe for frozen seafood you need to use up- I used snapper. Served over a large salad. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
My boys love this recipe, and have requested it twice since I originally made it about a month ago. I prefer pan frying, since it definitely adds texture and flavor. I have used tilapia and flounder, they pretty much taste the same in this recipe so I just buy whichever is on sale. I also doubled the amount of Old Bay since my family loves the flavor. Besides that, the recipe is pretty spot-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
These were good, and the whole family enjoyed them. I substited Scup for Cod because that's what I had available (any white fish would work well in this recipe.) The texture was very good. The cakes were firm and moist, but not sticky. I baked them in the oven, and they held together very well. The only thing I did which wasn't mentioned in the recipe is that I sprayed the cakes with cooking spray before baking, and then I sprayed them again when I turned them over. I think this helped to give a slightly crispy outside. I would like a little bit more spice, so I might try the Cajun seasoning suggestion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Excellent Recipe, I used 2 egg whites instead of milk and substituted sweet potato for regular potato. My finicky non-fish eating family Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Delicious! Served over a bed of cajun rice and just drizzled a little Rotel Cream Sauce on top. Great meal. Only difference was I didn't have bread crumbs and used Zatarain's Fish Fry meal to coat and then pan seared in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
My family LOVED these. I did not have the Old Bay Seasoning, so be substituted using basil, oregeno, and garlic powder as a previous reviewer suggested. The flavor was amazing. I pan fried, but will try the baked method next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These were the best fish cakes I've ever eaten. The only thing that I did differently was to add a couple of gloves of garlic to the vegetables. I used one potato and didn't use all of the milk. I actually used half n half but only about 1/4 cup. This is a keeper and will definitely make again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States