Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Pretty good. I would not use sugar next time. My husband enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This the way we always had bbq--put on a hb bun with cole slaw and hot sauce !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Carolina BBQ sauce does NOT have ketchup in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
We loved this. It's easy and makes a TON. My husband LOVES BBQ and he thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
The meat was a little bland, but it was nice and tender. The vinegar sauce gives it a much different taste than regular BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This recipe is a nice one, but as others say, very bland. Maybe my suggestion wll throw this into another category but hey, who cares! Try a new twist. Rub the pork down with minced garlic or fresh if you have it, lace it with some nice fresh rosemary or dried rosemary. salt and pepper and rub in. I brown mine in a good heavy pot on all sides,(oh, the rosemary smell will make your tounge taste buds dance around in anticipation of some of this fantastic meat on its surface!) then let it sit on the fat side to finish cooking after adding water enough to almost cover the meat. On top of the stove or slow cooker. (I prefer on top of the stove, but you have to watch it so the juices dont boil away, Cook slowly in covered dutch oven for 5-6 hours! The aroma alone will drive you wild. The taste, perfection! The rosemary is the trick to the wonderful flavor! Much different than putting red sauce on it. You can either pull it or slice it, or just tear it off the bones and enjoy it along side a nice slaw and some pork and beans. Of course if you want to use bbq sauce on it, go ahead, its your pork! Eat it like you want! I prefer to be able to taste the wonders that rosemary does to the bland pork meat! So dress up your pork today! Enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babzz Texas Treats

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Geneva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was good until I made the "bar-b-q" sauce at the end. It was too sweet for my tastes although I admit I'm not sure if it is supposed to be sweet. So, if you've never had this type of bar-b-q before, it is sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe (I'm from North Carolina where real barbecue is a pig pickin' and not something cooked on the stove top). I prefer to bake the pork shoulder, but either way is fine. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
The pork was not bad but like another reviewer said, the meat was a little bland. Also, the sauce was not very good. We had to doctor it up a bit to get it to taste just OK. Overall, the pulled pork is good. Just use a different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was the best BBQ shredded pork I've ever had! Just like we would get when we visited the carolinas. I did do it in the crock pot though, and instead of the 10 cups water I added 1 cup vinegar, 1cup water, lots of different dried peppers like crushed red pepper, blk pepper corns, cayenne pepper along with the other ingredients and used that as the broth in the slow cooker. Then slow cooked it for 10+ hours (overnight) on low and then went on with the rest of the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States