Carolina BBQ Pork Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was just ok, I am usually pretty happy with any bbq sauce. Not such a big fan of this one though, Sorry:( I even took the advise and used cider vinegar instead and doubled the sugar. Maybe it will taste better tomorrow. Thank you Janie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Far too much vinegar, far too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Almost there, but it needs Apple Cidar Vinegar and you mop it on the food as it's cooking. The distilled white vinegar makes it way too srong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I am from Eastern North Carolina and this is what it is all about, except we use apple cider vinegar, It is mostly used when grilling pork or chicken, you use it as a basting sauce through out the cooking process, we mostly use it for cooking our pigs for chopped BBQ. It can be a little strong if use on meat after it is done, but used correctly it is the best way to cook pork and eat pork, The vinegar is what makes it so famous for being Eastern North Carolina style BBQ. Try it!!! next time you grill ribs or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I don't know anything about Carolina BBQ, so I can't whether or not this is TRUE Carolina BBQ. What I can tell you, however, is that I thought there was, indeed, WAY TOO MUCH VINEGAR. I had to do a lot of 'doctoring up' to make the sauce palatable for the rest of my family (ketchup, tomato sauce, onion flakes, more sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Oh my goodness, I think the only way a person could enjoy this sauce is if you enjoy drinking vinegar from the jug. Holy cats!!! I tried it and it's not for our taste. I think it would also be a nice way to ruin a good piece of pork. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
yeah!this is the good stuff. as for whether NC has a tomatoe based sauce or not- it depends on who is cooking and whether there is enough ketchup. as a NC native, have eaten it with and without the tomatoe base and either way is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Great recipe! It simple with few ingredients, and tastes great! Perfect on the vinegar, that's what it's all about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Tasty! However, this is not TRUE North Carolina style BBQ sauce. I've lived in Sanford, Chocowinity, and Forest City and the BBQ is the same. There is NO tomato base at all. That is what makes NC BBQ unique and special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
This recipie has way too much vinegar. I strongly recommend choosing another recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States