Carob Cake And Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I made this for my daughter's first birthday since my kids don't get white sugar. The cake was very good and very moist. The frosting turned out runny so I ended up adding an 8oz container of cream cheese to tighten it up. It turned out very well but without the modification the frosting would have been a disaster. The kids and the guests really liked the results and I'll be making this cake for future birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mezzofortay
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This is an aswesome recipe! My family and friends didn't know its not chocolate at all! The cake is moist and it tastes so good with the carob icing, honey gives it a special aroma and I'm a honey lover! Its easy to make and definitely a great treat! One thing to note is to serve is warmed, never cold as it'll dry up. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezzofortay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B. Maitreya
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Goodness and Angels, this is a wonderful recipe. We were out of bananas, so I subbed with 2TB ground flaxseed soaked in 6TB water, and was low on honey so used 1/2c honey and 2 packets of stevia. Also used whole wheat pastry flour, and no frosting. The 2 diabetics in the house were excited about having this for future b-day cakes. No wonder other members were so happy over this recipe! We are grateful to have this recipe now too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This is a delicious carob cake. It is moist and has the perfect texture and sweetness. I did substitute applesauce for the butter to keep it low-fat. I also used my own version of carob frosting (carob powder, milk, and powdered sugar). I also found that I had to cook it for 20 minutes longer than the recipe stated. I grew up eating carob cake every year for my birthday, and this is one of the best ones I have tasted. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Great cake! I've tried many times to make a cake with frosting using carob (my son is allergic to cocoa), but they usually never turned out. This is a definite keeper - the cake is moist without being half raw and the banana adds a nice flavour, and the icing is tasty too. Next time I'll only make half the icing though. I substituted 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat, and sprinkled shredded coconut over the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I actually submitted this recipe a few years ago. And I don't think I have made it in that long of a time! I am glad that you people that rated it liked it. The first time I tried it I had never tasted carob, I thought it was chocolate. Not what I was expecting! But it grew on me. The banana accents the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
i can't consume caffeine but had a few bad experiences w/carob. until i tried this cake, that is! i substituted the water/nuts with 1/3C almond butter and 2/3C shredded coconut. that made a really lovely and moist cake with a delicious flavor. will try w/o the almond butter next time to lower fat. maybe raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday party because she is allergic to chocolate. The kids enjoyed it as did the adults. I liked the frosting, but found the cake part a little dry, but that could be b/c I used spelt flour instead of regular wheat (I'm wheat sensitive : P ) But still on the whole, it was quite good and very full-flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This cake was the best "chocolate" cake I have ever eaten. I did use whole wheat flour inside of white flour. It did not seem to make any difference. The cake was moist and remained that way until the last piece was eaten! (Which didn't last long.) The frosting was another story. This was not as great as expected and fortunately for me I did not add it to the cake. I think maybe it needed some heavy cream... Again I highly recommend this recipe for the cake part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States