Carob Cake And Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SharleneE
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Awesome! Made this cake for my mother's 80 birthday. Followed the recipe as directed (minus the walnuts) in a 10" round aluminum cake pan. It was exceptionally moist with just the right amount of sweetness. It really didn't need any frosting, so just did a light dusting of powder. This recipe is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharleneE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piggott, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I love this cake (so do my kids)! We have to stay away from chocolate, so this moist cake is just what we need. I didn't make the frosting due to lactose issues, so I can't rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I used mashed pears instead of the banana. I didn't make the frosting. This had great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
GREAT recipe! If making for a diebetic use splenda instead of sugar works good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I made this cake and it was the best carob cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Next time I will try agave nectar intead of honey. I think it will taste more like real chocolate. I wish I could give 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
It was surprisingly GOOD! I used 1/3 cup honey and 1/3 cup molasses because my honey has a strong taste. I also added 1/4 cup of strong tea instead of banana. However, the frosting was a bit sweet to my taste... and the cake tasted great even without the frosting. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I love this recipe!! I add sweetened carob chips when I don't make the frosting for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This cake is delicious! I made it for my 23 year old son's birthday and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
My two year old came up to me and asked for chocolate cake. I don't let him have chocolate so I decided to try this recipe instead. Simply awesome. I used less honey and substituted with whole grain spelt flour. I also used canola oil instead of butter since he is lactose intolerant. He loved his "chocolate cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States