Carob Cake And Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This cake was the best "chocolate" cake I have ever eaten. I did use whole wheat flour inside of white flour. It did not seem to make any difference. The cake was moist and remained that way until the last piece was eaten! (Which didn't last long.) The frosting was another story. This was not as great as expected and fortunately for me I did not add it to the cake. I think maybe it needed some heavy cream... Again I highly recommend this recipe for the cake part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This is a delicious carob cake. It is moist and has the perfect texture and sweetness. I did substitute applesauce for the butter to keep it low-fat. I also used my own version of carob frosting (carob powder, milk, and powdered sugar). I also found that I had to cook it for 20 minutes longer than the recipe stated. I grew up eating carob cake every year for my birthday, and this is one of the best ones I have tasted. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Great cake! I've tried many times to make a cake with frosting using carob (my son is allergic to cocoa), but they usually never turned out. This is a definite keeper - the cake is moist without being half raw and the banana adds a nice flavour, and the icing is tasty too. Next time I'll only make half the icing though. I substituted 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat, and sprinkled shredded coconut over the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B. Maitreya
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Goodness and Angels, this is a wonderful recipe. We were out of bananas, so I subbed with 2TB ground flaxseed soaked in 6TB water, and was low on honey so used 1/2c honey and 2 packets of stevia. Also used whole wheat pastry flour, and no frosting. The 2 diabetics in the house were excited about having this for future b-day cakes. No wonder other members were so happy over this recipe! We are grateful to have this recipe now too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday party because she is allergic to chocolate. The kids enjoyed it as did the adults. I liked the frosting, but found the cake part a little dry, but that could be b/c I used spelt flour instead of regular wheat (I'm wheat sensitive : P ) But still on the whole, it was quite good and very full-flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Next time I will try agave nectar intead of honey. I think it will taste more like real chocolate. I wish I could give 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
i can't consume caffeine but had a few bad experiences w/carob. until i tried this cake, that is! i substituted the water/nuts with 1/3C almond butter and 2/3C shredded coconut. that made a really lovely and moist cake with a delicious flavor. will try w/o the almond butter next time to lower fat. maybe raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I love this recipe!! I add sweetened carob chips when I don't make the frosting for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
My two year old came up to me and asked for chocolate cake. I don't let him have chocolate so I decided to try this recipe instead. Simply awesome. I used less honey and substituted with whole grain spelt flour. I also used canola oil instead of butter since he is lactose intolerant. He loved his "chocolate cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
WOW! This is an AmAzInG cake. So moist and really chocolaty! It is the best warm, but cool is great too. Thank you for your recipe! I haven't been able to eat chocolate, because I can't take the caffein in chocolate, so this was heavenly to me. I did not add any water in the icing and it turned out thicker like a regular frosting and added dry Hazelnut creamer with the dry milk to add flavor. Though the Carob cake doesn't really need the sweet icing, it's great by itself! Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States