Carnitas with Pico De Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This recipe was super easy to put together. I was a little scared by a whole cup of cumin but it worked out fine. Suprisingly, even with the peppers, the meat wasn't spicy enough for us. I think I would increase the jalepenos next time or maybe add some cayenne pepper. I followed the recipe except for I had to add salt to the meat mixture. I couldn't imagine cooking meat without it. I added about a tablespoon of salt and some black pepper. I started my meat out frozen. I accidentally cooked on high 3 hours longer than I was supposed to when I fell asleep! I cut back on the low temp. time by 3 hours due to this mistake. The meat was very tender. For us,the taste was a 3 and ease was a 4. If you don't like things too spicy it should be perfect as is. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Great recipe. I also changed cooking time but I did it on purpose. I did 8 hours on high then 3 more on low. I also cut the meat into smaller pcs. It is plenty of time to make it tender and my husband didn't have to wait as long to eat. Just keep the lid closed. Great taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
It was very easy to make and smelled delicious... but it lacked the taste I was hoping for. I was hoping for something a little spicy and savory and it fell short for me... a little bland. Maybe it would have been better with a little chihuahua cheese and guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Smolcich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I didn't brown this and it still turned out great, because you're only going to shred it later. This was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I only only rating the Pico de Gallo recipe - it was awesome!!!! (I used a different carnita recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniLynn1024

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I made this for a potluck and it was a big hit. Instead of 6 cups of water I used 3 cups of orange juice and 3 cups of chicken stock. I reduced the cooking liquid down to about one cup and it made a great sauce to moisten the cooked meat when I reheated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soupwhistle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My husband who is from mexico ate this up! will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billiejw89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Well done, carnitas expert! This crock-pot method is perfect for pulled pork too. I used a shorter cooking time (12 hours) because a 4-pound shoulder is about the max from my supermarket. I also used less liquid with that smaller shoulder roast, but I stayed with the full 1-cup measure of cumin. (**ALWAYS leave the lid on a crock-pot. Don't stir it or peek just to see if its working. It is. Muster your will power!**) Chili peppers lose their heat with longer cooking, also when seeded. I add them near the end, maybe leave in the seeds if I really want heat. Or put out a bowl of minced jalapenos for people to sprinkle to taste. This Pico deGallo is top-drawer. Use it often. In place of salsas and other dips. Try this Pico for quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Fixed this as written and it was absolutely delicious! We ate it in tortillas the first meal, but had leftovers without the tortillas and the pico de gallo on top. It made tons, so I froze the rest. I think it would be fabulous over rice with the pico on top. You could even add BBQ sauce to the shredded meat and have a super BBQ pork. I will use this crockpot method anytime I want super tender pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
My picky husband loved the whole recipe! I used the pico and carnitas for a Homemade Chipotle Burrito Bowl and this recipe made it a hit! Definitely will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Canales
Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Elmo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States