Carnitas Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I'm just learning to cook Mexican and tried this recipe. I rubbed the seasonings into the pork and put it in the crock pot. Really good! I've used it in tacos and made fajitas and served it with green chile sauce. Really a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This recipe was great! After cooking the meat, I used the broth for tortilla soup, just add a little cilantro, cheese, and tortilla chips on top and it turns out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
i made it myself and the garlic took away from the final product. my opinion dont use garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Excellent! I followed the suggestion from a previous reviewer and used the filling inside flour tortillas. I then put green chile enchilada sauce (Hatch) w/ cheese. I made a double batch, so I have plenty of meat/veggies left over for other dishes. Awesome base recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akfilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maron Di Brugnera, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
MMMM-MMM good. Add a bit more salt, and you've got yourself a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I really liked this, although my husband and daughter kind of poo'd it. I served it with cornbread instead of tortillas which could be the reason they didn't really like it. I will keep this recipe and use it again but serve it in a more traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Flavor was good but not strong enough. I doubled the recipe and cooked mine in the crock pot all day then shredded the meat and cooked it on the stovetop like others suggested. I added more seasoning as I cooked it on the stove but next time I will add a lot more since the meat was kind of bland. It has the potential of being a new staple in our family but needs to be tweaked a little for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Loved this recipe! It made a perfect meal folr two. Ib added red crushed peppers and used 2/3 cup orange juice, 1/3 cup lime juice and added enough chicken broth to cover the meat. I also patted the Meat with the seasonings first then seared one side for a minute before adding the veggies and liquids. The quick sear locked the spices onto the meat and gave it a gorgeous brown color when done simmering. I then fried the meat in olive oil and used it in tacos - SO INCREADIBLE!!! Just top the tacos with diced onion and cilantro, then guacamole and lime juice. Oh I also added Adobo seasoning to the list of seasoning and to the shreaded meatv just before frying it. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe and so did our daughters. After shredding the pork, I added some of the juices back to the meat to keep it moist and also add back some of the seasoning. I also added additional salt, chili powder and a lot of cumin after shredding it. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Great recipe. Lots of flavor. We ate it with tortillas one day and with rice another. It didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States