Carnitas Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
What a great way to create a base for meals. My favorite it is to omit the tomato and cumin, then add additonal broth, onion, carrots and celery. Once it is close to done I remove the meat and use the broth to cook spaetzle in. Makes a great pork stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
We had this last night for dinner and it was great! I cooked it in my crock pot instead of on the stovetop. I had to make a couple substitutions because I didn't have all the ingredients (onion powder instead of fresh, celery seed instead of celery). I can't wait to try it with all the correct ingredients, as I'm sure it will be even better that way! We served it on flour tortillas with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This recipe made for some good pulled pork (after adding a lot of extra seasoning) but nothing like any authentic carnitas I have tried. It needs more flavor and heat...maybe some fresh green chiles would help it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PregnantAndHungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Boiled/simmered on stove for 30 minutes,but ran out of time. Placed in oven @ 225 for 4 hours afterwards. Super tender and moist. Not as much flavor as I'd hoped, but doctored up just fine as I shredded meat (warm). I did a bone in shoulder roast. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Wonderful...my family loved it...even my 3 year old...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Sorry but this was terribly disappointing. No flavor, dry, not pleasant. I've tried "doctoring" the meat to make it taste good & it just isn't worth it. Used the crock pot, as other reviewers had success with that. Maybe I used too much water? Either way, I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaRidd07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I love this recipe and use it nearly every other week! The only change I've made is that I cook it in the slow cooker for 4 hours on high, let it cool and then shred the meat. Once the meat is shredded I toss it in a frying pan with a tiny amount of butter or oil so the pork is slighty crispy. Great on its own or in a taco or burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Califia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Great Crock Pot Standard! Easy to make and has so many uses....tender moist filling for tortillas, taco's and even wonderful with a little spicy bbq sauce on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
YUMMY! Tender! I had to up the seasonings, but I like ti spicey! Family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
my roommate made this for our cinco de mayo party and it was amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hunter, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States