Carnitas Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This recipe was outstanding. My boyfriend asked me to make carnitas and I chose this recipe based on the previous reviews. I did make a few changes. I added a cup of orange juice and half a cup of lime juice. It turned out wonderful. I used the carnitas recipe to make carnitas enchiladas. The pork was so tender it melted in your mouth. This was a fantastic recipe and I will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by showjumper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made Carnitas today for my family and used this recipe as a general guide. I feel like this was a good basic recipe but it is missing a couple of key components. I made my Carnitas in my slow cooker. I think this recipe needs additional acid (other than the tomato)to help the meat break down well and absorb the flavor of the seasonings better. I added a couple dashes of orange and lime juice to mine. Vinegar would work too. I also think it would be wise to use a low sodium beef stock in lieu of water. It will only add to the flavor of the dish. I love Rachel Ray's beef stock as it has a nice full flavor and doesnt taste overly salty. I was unable to find a 1-pound pork shoulder roast at the store, ended up with an 8-pound pork shoulder roast instead. I trimmed the roast down and increased the recipe accordingly. At the end of cooking, my Carnitas were still a little lacking in flavor. They were good, they just didnt have a flavor burst. I decided to use some of the juice from the slow cooker and made a homemade carnitas sauce on the stove using stuff I had around the house (tequila, beer, a little starch). I then poured it over the finished meat to add flavor. Yum! I would definitely make this recipe again, but with my own tweaks! Best of luck with your own Carnitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Dee-licious! This will be a regular for us. It was easy to prepare and so good. I left out the celery because I knew my kids wouldn't touch it and I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used a can of tomato paste. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBUDD2
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My husband LOVES carnitas! This recipe was good, but we felt it could have been outstanding. My usual recipe is 1 large spanish onion cut into wedges and seperated by segments, 1tbsp of tumric, 2 tbsp adobo, 1 tsp cumin, 2 tbsp garlic powder, 1 tbsp sazon de goya con achote, 3 low sodium beef broth cubes, 6 cups of water, and a 1lb pork shoulder roast. Combine all ingredients in a large stock pot and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer on medium low head for 2 to 5 hours. When a fork can easily be inserted into the meat and it is seperationg from the bone it is ready. drain excess liquid and shred. place in a baking pan, bake at 400 for 10-15 min. squeeze fresh lime over the top sprinkle with additional adobo and serve with tortillas and yellow rice. Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
my husband is mexican and loved loved loved this when i made it for him i did add the lime juice and orange juice and chicken broth when i cooked it it was great for his taco and next day had for his lunch too with bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is a great base recipe. I would give it 5 stars but I made too many adjustments. But when I got done the broth was so good my wife and 3 yr old daughter drank about 2 cups of it waiting for the meat to cool enough to shred. I cannot wait to use the broth for a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I had pork loin and baby back ribs, so I lined the bottom of a slow cooker with ribs with just enough water to cover the bottom by 1/2 inch, added the fresh vegetables, then added the cut-up pork loin. and topped with the dry spices. I let it cook on low for 6 hours. The pork loin was delicious, and the ribs (glazed later with my special bbq sauce) made a bonus meal for the following day! Thanks, JIMMYDEAN4, for a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I did this in the slow cooker and it came out nice. We found that if we sauted the meat with onions after it was done cooking it gave the meat a nice crispy texture that complemented the depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Gave it 4 stars because the recipe needs to be modified, yet it's the fastest way to cook pork shoulder i've seen! After the 2 hrs the pork is easy to shred add to skillet. To skillet add about 1 cup of pork broth, some adobo seasoning and dash of hot sauce if you like. Cook high until broth evaporates, let pork sear a bit, add another 1/2 cup of broth to scrape up brown seared goodness from skillet, it evaporates quickly and pork is ready to serve! Done in 2.5hrs as opposed to slow cooker recipes, that require 4 hours minimum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanny420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Really great authentic flavor. I did this in the crock pot and doubled the seasoning amounts. I cut the meat in chunks and fried it in a little butter and oil to get that characteristic carnitas texture. I drained the veggies and poured the juice in the frying pan with the meat and let it reduce. We ate this in corn tortillas. The hubby thought he'd died and gone to heaven. He suggested that it would make a great smothered burrito filling if I didn't fry it. So we pureed the remaining veggies with some broth, added a little salsa picante (Tapatio,) and made a sauce. Had smothered burritos the next day for lunch- it was delicious! Next time I'll pull the carrots out before I puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States