Carnitas Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Delish! Cooked up perfectly. Once done, I browned the shredded pork in a bit of oil in a pan then added it to tortillas. Simple and delicious. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I made this a couple of weeks ago when I was looking for a change of pace from my standard cheesy chicken enchiladas. I shredded the pork, heated it on the stovetop with cream cheese, homemade enchilada sauce and sauteed onions, wrapped it in tortillas and covered it with green tomato salsa and shredded cheddar. Baked for 30 minutes and topped with green onions and sour cream...mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I used country style ribs for the pork, and they worked fine. The flavor of the meat was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
i have made this several times since finding the recipe. we love it. we serve it traditional with onion, cilantro, and lime on a warm corn tortilla. WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNNYFARM319

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was positively delicious! My husband (who is Hispanic) raved about it. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Oh my gosh, we love this recipe! After shredding the meat we brown it in some olive oil and it is sooo good! Then I take all of the cooking liquid and use it for Chicken Tortilla soup. All great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This was very good. I threw in a diced jalapeno, and seasoned with garlic salt. Also used 3 cloves of garlic (there's no such thing as too much garlic). Salting the meat after shredding brings out the flavor. For an authentic presentation, serve on two heated corn tortillas and top with diced onion, cilantro, and juice from a fresh lime, plus your favorite hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Very delicious. My entire family loved it. I will continue to make this recipe for the family and different functions. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I use the slow cooker too, and put all the seasonings in the pot. when I come home, the meat is easily shredded, but once shredded, I add some spices all over again. I usually add about 1T chili powder, salt and pepper to taste, and about 1/4+t cayenne (we like it spicy). It is ready for burritos. I also make extra, and separate some of the meat for tacos. For tacos, it is best to put the cooked meat with the after-added seasoning in the oven 325 degrees for about 15 minutes just to get the extra fat and juices off since you will be frying the meat in the taco shell anyway and the extra moisture gets the tortilla too soggy (even if you don't fry). It will store cooked for about 3 days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Meat was very tender but all the spices/seasoning did not absorb into the meat.Meat was pretty bland. We used it to make soft tacos. I think i will re season the shredded pork tomorrow and simmer it with the soup/juices that it cooked in today until it reduces down.I think it would be great. Only prob with this recipe was lack of flavor in the pork. I will still make again with a lil alterations next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States