Carnitas Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was pretty good but I agree with others that it didn't cook long enough to really flavor the pork. Next time I'll put these ingredients in my slow cooker and see what results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
What a great way to create a base for meals. My favorite it is to omit the tomato and cumin, then add additonal broth, onion, carrots and celery. Once it is close to done I remove the meat and use the broth to cook spaetzle in. Makes a great pork stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
We had this last night for dinner and it was great! I cooked it in my crock pot instead of on the stovetop. I had to make a couple substitutions because I didn't have all the ingredients (onion powder instead of fresh, celery seed instead of celery). I can't wait to try it with all the correct ingredients, as I'm sure it will be even better that way! We served it on flour tortillas with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This recipe made for some good pulled pork (after adding a lot of extra seasoning) but nothing like any authentic carnitas I have tried. It needs more flavor and heat...maybe some fresh green chiles would help it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PregnantAndHungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Boiled/simmered on stove for 30 minutes,but ran out of time. Placed in oven @ 225 for 4 hours afterwards. Super tender and moist. Not as much flavor as I'd hoped, but doctored up just fine as I shredded meat (warm). I did a bone in shoulder roast. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Wonderful...my family loved it...even my 3 year old...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Sorry but this was terribly disappointing. No flavor, dry, not pleasant. I've tried "doctoring" the meat to make it taste good & it just isn't worth it. Used the crock pot, as other reviewers had success with that. Maybe I used too much water? Either way, I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaRidd07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I love this recipe and use it nearly every other week! The only change I've made is that I cook it in the slow cooker for 4 hours on high, let it cool and then shred the meat. Once the meat is shredded I toss it in a frying pan with a tiny amount of butter or oil so the pork is slighty crispy. Great on its own or in a taco or burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Califia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Great Crock Pot Standard! Easy to make and has so many uses....tender moist filling for tortillas, taco's and even wonderful with a little spicy bbq sauce on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
YUMMY! Tender! I had to up the seasonings, but I like ti spicey! Family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States