Carnitas Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Really great authentic flavor. I did this in the crock pot and doubled the seasoning amounts. I cut the meat in chunks and fried it in a little butter and oil to get that characteristic carnitas texture. I drained the veggies and poured the juice in the frying pan with the meat and let it reduce. We ate this in corn tortillas. The hubby thought he'd died and gone to heaven. He suggested that it would make a great smothered burrito filling if I didn't fry it. So we pureed the remaining veggies with some broth, added a little salsa picante (Tapatio,) and made a sauce. Had smothered burritos the next day for lunch- it was delicious! Next time I'll pull the carrots out before I puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
We really liked this alot. Added salsa verde and black beans to the meat and ate it over rice. VERY yum! I also used the broth as a soup base as it is very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wargo
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
very flavorful for a little change of pace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Love this recipe - while its cooking your kitchen smells wonderful - I pulled the meat put it in a serving dish with a little of juice poured over for a buffet - Cooked fresh flour tortillas - sides included tomatilla sauce and sliced avocado to top - also fresh cilantro on the side - Side dish - black beens with crumbled feta or queso fresco on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgauger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
WOW. How easy and tasty was this???? Took some advice from previous posters and seared the meat first - some spice rub on hand and tossed it in that. Next time I don't think I'll bother pulling it for rollups, but will just serve it as a chunky stew with some sourbread. Picky hubby yummed it up - woo hoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Excellent!! I added a whole jalapeno to the onion and garlic I was chopping in the food processor. This was for a recipe of 7 lbs. of pork. Everyone loved this recipe and it was so easy. Only doubled the seasonings for such a large amount of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was really good, but I agree that the flavor was too mild. Next time I will use the seasoning as a rub for several hours/overnight, then cook with less water. I also will reduce the liquid after I shred it so it's more like a sauce. Good base recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
So super good (and bonus points for the ease)!!! I used a 2.5 lb roast, so bumped up everything. Diced the onion, coined the baby carrots, (no celery), a can of diced tomatoes with chiles, nixed the individual spices in favor of Penzey's Chicken Taco, extra cilantro, and poured some Chicken broth into the crock pot with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I too have a personal touch. I sear my pork shoulder on a charcoal grill, then coat with spices and place in slowcooker. The house smells wonderful all day. Then I remove the pork and reduce the liquid, and add lard to the mixture to crisp up the shredded meat. The charcoal really adds a smoke flavor that stays with the meat throughout the boiling process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
WOW, thanks to AR buddy Keri for suggesting this recipe. I had accidently bought pork stew meat, and shouted out about favorite AR stew recipes. Keri suggested this recipe as an alternative if I wasn't set on making stew, it is something she makes. WELL!! It was a total hit with my family. Now, I did serve this as one because of the meat. And DH said it was the most tender pork. Now I also had it in the slow cooker as well and it cooked all day. The flavor was spot on, not to hot and not to mild, just right. My kids had 2 bowls which was amazing. Thanks to Keri for introducing me to this one. I've saved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States