Carne en su Jugo (Meat in its Juices) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nancy Padilla
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Made it for my hubby and little ones.. Used all ingredients and they freaken loved it!!! This Zacatecana girl can cook.. A way through a mans heart is through his stomach! Definitely recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this tonight and didn't change a thing and it came out perfectly. I kept wanting to drift off from the simple recipe, but I didn't stray. Great taste. The cilantro, lime and onion added before serving are key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Chief

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
i figured its my turn to contribute ... i kept all th eoriginal ingredients but when i was browning the meat i added garlic salt, sazon goya (orange packets), mojo criollo and onion. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I'm a single Father of three teenage daughters, and we have been enjoying this one together for a few years now. This is at least a bi-weekly staple in our menu-and also very easy as long as you think about the timing and have the ingredients that need to be cooked ahead of time, it's very simple. I don't heat the beans (I use Ranch Style beans in the blk & yellow can). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I LOVE this recipe!!!! My Girl Scout troop grew tomatillos in our community garden and didn't know what to prepare with them. We tried this recipe, and it is a staple for all of us now! Easy and delicious...a perfect combination (and it's very reasonable cost-wise).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe is great!! I am from Guadalajara, and I know that the traditional way of making it is, with tomatillo. But I grew up eating my mom's version without it and it is amazing as well. Now when I'm homesick, I cook it for my gringo husband. The only thing that this recipe is missing for an A+ on my end.... is to have some avocado tacos with it. Oh yes ma'am! Warm up some corn tortillas, place some avocado slices in the middle, sprinkle some salt, roll, and take a bite with every spoonful of carne en su jugo. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pauorti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have flank steak, so I used part of roast I had, cut into pieces. I also used homemade beans versus canned. Three of three kids gave it a thumbs up, and so did hubby. This will be part of our regular rotation. I didn't make it as spicy as the recipe calls for, but only because of the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Oh my goodness! I buy this from a Mexican restaurant I go to often & always wanted to make it. It seems really complicated but it's quite simple. I loved it! My kids ask why I've never fixed it before & asked for it every day until I had to make it again that same week. I fix it once a week now since everyones so fond of it (it's so fast & easy). I made minor changes, may be major to some but I use seasoned fajita meat out of the deli section at my neighborhood grocery store, can of chicken broth,chopped celery & rotel? Yes rotel...I could not find green tomatoes anywhere? Eat Greedy!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanni29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Favorite soup of all time! My husband may like this soup more than he likes me…just kidding, but he really does love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I cannot speak to its authenticity, but I can tell you this is a really good bean soup. Just like ham ‘n beans, only made with beef. I could not find flank steak, so I used top round steak. I just finished making a large pot of pinto beans, so I decided to use those instead of canned. I’m glad I did because I found this to be very salty. I can’t image what it would have tasted like had I used canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States