Carne en su Jugo (Meat in its Juices) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
A total hit with my family. Very Yummy! I did however use fresh cooked beans (de la olla) instead of the canned, which i think made the recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Fe Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Wonderful! We used this on toastadas and it was great with shreaded lettuce, green onions and cheese. We also used the chile de arbol hot sauce from the "authentic enchiladas" recipe on this site. I've already made two batches of hot sauce to go with the leftovers of this dish! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was great! only minor improvement would be slow cooking the meat with the tomatio sauce for a long period of time (8 hours?). Then adding the beans and bacon in about and hour before eating. Can't wait to try this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
We loved this recipe! I served (almost like a gravy) over plain white rice. I also had a bowl of tortilla chips on the table to dip with. DELISH!!! Our grocery store was out of serrano peppers. So I substituted 1 large banana pepper. I will try with the serrano peppers the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
The recipe works best with very thin slices of flank steak or skirt steak. I have tried both. Last week I blended a few pieces of the browned meat with the tomatillo for added flavor and the result was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was really great! I couldn't believe how well this turned out. Definitely a keeper. My neighbor gave me some tomatillos from his garden and I wasn't sure what to do with them until I found this recipe. I followed the directions but with two changes. I only used two serrano peppers (canned- couldn't find fresh ones at the supermarket) because I don't like it spicy hot. I also used turkey bacon instead of real bacon. Next time I think I cut the bacon back to three slices because it seemed to overpower the other flavors somewhat. I was a little worried the water tomatillo mix would be too thin and have no taste, but in the end everything worked out perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My family loved this recipe. Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My family and I loved this recipe... and I am having leftovers for lunch today! I was a little hesitant to try it since no one had rated it but I am so glad I did! Our grocery store did not have serannos, so I used jalapenos, and I cooked the onion with the meat- only because we don't like raw onion. It was really yummy. We had it with a salad with avocado dressing and sliced avocados. I liked it alone, but the rest of the family ate it with corn tortillas. I honestly didn't think combining the beans with the meat mixture would taste so good, but it was. I will make it again for sure! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this recipe for my boyfriend, who is from Guadalajara, and he LOVED LOVED LOVED IT! I have never had this before so I have nothing to compare it to, but I absolutely loved the flavor! WONDERFUL, I can not wait to make when I have my family over for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was sooo yummy! I am going to start making this regularly. The only change I made was I used stew meat (easier) and instead of the serrano peppers I used chopped green new mexico chile (we buy sacks and store bags of it in the freezer) I've been craving an authentic mexican meal and this hit the spot! My husband loved it and even suggested making it for family get togethers! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States