Carne en su Jugo (Meat in its Juices) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I felt this was a very good recipe, however next time I make it I will use stewing meat.. Flank steak is for quick searing not a long simmer. Definitely not tender enough after about an hour. Also, there is no need to warm the beans ahead of time just throw them in the pot about five minutes before the soup is done. Make sure you rinse and drain the beans first or you will get a pastey taste. You don't need chicken granuels if you don't have them. Use 3 boullion cubes. Same thing. I actually used chicken "stock" (not broth) for more flavor and additional liquid. I served this with all the toppings mentioned but added Mexican shredded cheese, sour cream and crushed lime flavored Xochitl tortilla chips. These chips are very thin and crispy. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this recipe for my boyfriend, who is from Guadalajara, and he LOVED LOVED LOVED IT! I have never had this before so I have nothing to compare it to, but I absolutely loved the flavor! WONDERFUL, I can not wait to make when I have my family over for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My family and I loved this recipe... and I am having leftovers for lunch today! I was a little hesitant to try it since no one had rated it but I am so glad I did! Our grocery store did not have serannos, so I used jalapenos, and I cooked the onion with the meat- only because we don't like raw onion. It was really yummy. We had it with a salad with avocado dressing and sliced avocados. I liked it alone, but the rest of the family ate it with corn tortillas. I honestly didn't think combining the beans with the meat mixture would taste so good, but it was. I will make it again for sure! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was great! only minor improvement would be slow cooking the meat with the tomatio sauce for a long period of time (8 hours?). Then adding the beans and bacon in about and hour before eating. Can't wait to try this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
The recipe works best with very thin slices of flank steak or skirt steak. I have tried both. Last week I blended a few pieces of the browned meat with the tomatillo for added flavor and the result was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
We loved this recipe! I served (almost like a gravy) over plain white rice. I also had a bowl of tortilla chips on the table to dip with. DELISH!!! Our grocery store was out of serrano peppers. So I substituted 1 large banana pepper. I will try with the serrano peppers the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
A total hit with my family. Very Yummy! I did however use fresh cooked beans (de la olla) instead of the canned, which i think made the recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Fe Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My family loved this recipe. Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Wonderful! We used this on toastadas and it was great with shreaded lettuce, green onions and cheese. We also used the chile de arbol hot sauce from the "authentic enchiladas" recipe on this site. I've already made two batches of hot sauce to go with the leftovers of this dish! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
One of THE best I've discovered on this site. Not a well known recipe but absoloutely wonderful comfort food. Using grilled meat or searing it first gives more depth of flavor. I also oven roasted the tomatillos and a jalapeno before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States