Carne en su Jugo (Meat in its Juices) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My family and I loved this recipe... and I am having leftovers for lunch today! I was a little hesitant to try it since no one had rated it but I am so glad I did! Our grocery store did not have serannos, so I used jalapenos, and I cooked the onion with the meat- only because we don't like raw onion. It was really yummy. We had it with a salad with avocado dressing and sliced avocados. I liked it alone, but the rest of the family ate it with corn tortillas. I honestly didn't think combining the beans with the meat mixture would taste so good, but it was. I will make it again for sure! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was really great! I couldn't believe how well this turned out. Definitely a keeper. My neighbor gave me some tomatillos from his garden and I wasn't sure what to do with them until I found this recipe. I followed the directions but with two changes. I only used two serrano peppers (canned- couldn't find fresh ones at the supermarket) because I don't like it spicy hot. I also used turkey bacon instead of real bacon. Next time I think I cut the bacon back to three slices because it seemed to overpower the other flavors somewhat. I was a little worried the water tomatillo mix would be too thin and have no taste, but in the end everything worked out perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
It was a big hit at my sons birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was sooooooo good! The only thing I did differently was I used sirloin steak instead of flank simply because I couldn't find it. My husband has already asked me to make this again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_Wanna_Bite!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Authentic mexican recipe. Thank you gema.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Love love loved this soup. I actully used a combo of short rib and sirloin steak. I didnt have enough serrano peppers so I added a can of green chiles. This was a nice change from the usual soups I whip up and will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cashmere, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I felt this was a very good recipe, however next time I make it I will use stewing meat.. Flank steak is for quick searing not a long simmer. Definitely not tender enough after about an hour. Also, there is no need to warm the beans ahead of time just throw them in the pot about five minutes before the soup is done. Make sure you rinse and drain the beans first or you will get a pastey taste. You don't need chicken granuels if you don't have them. Use 3 boullion cubes. Same thing. I actually used chicken "stock" (not broth) for more flavor and additional liquid. I served this with all the toppings mentioned but added Mexican shredded cheese, sour cream and crushed lime flavored Xochitl tortilla chips. These chips are very thin and crispy. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this recipe for my boyfriend, who is from Guadalajara, and he LOVED LOVED LOVED IT! I have never had this before so I have nothing to compare it to, but I absolutely loved the flavor! WONDERFUL, I can not wait to make when I have my family over for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Wonderful! We used this on toastadas and it was great with shreaded lettuce, green onions and cheese. We also used the chile de arbol hot sauce from the "authentic enchiladas" recipe on this site. I've already made two batches of hot sauce to go with the leftovers of this dish! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My family loved this recipe. Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States