Carne en su Jugo (Meat in its Juices) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Loved it! I used Arracharra (flank steak tenderized by puncture from the butcher) from the Mexican grocery store. I cut the steak into pieces and marinated in a bag with fresh lime juice and Adobo while other things were cooking. I also made my own pinto beans, using 2 C dry beans, soaking overnight in 9 C water and then cooking w/2 pieces bacon, onion & garlic. My end product was much darker than the photo, maybe because my beans turned out dark. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Bussman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I lived in Guadalajara for 3 years and have been searching for this recipe! thank you for posting this. I like that you can make it to ones own liking by adding your own favorite ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Griffen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Even better the second day. The meat was very tender the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Uebelhor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was very good. We forgot to put the bacon it even. Won't next time. I used Flat Iron steak and it was tender right from the start. I still simmered it for a couple hours just to absorb more flavors. I will leave one Serrano with seeds next time to just kick it up a bit. No one said whether or not to drain the beans. I assumed to drain them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
One of THE best I've discovered on this site. Not a well known recipe but absoloutely wonderful comfort food. Using grilled meat or searing it first gives more depth of flavor. I also oven roasted the tomatillos and a jalapeno before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Super good! Kids don't like beans, but whatever. I do! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John_3_3_3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schertz, Texas, USA
Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Love this recipe. I also eat this with tortilla chips or tostadas ! No changess needed to be made .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
The flavor was great. I was worried with 3 cayenne peppers that it would be too spicy. But I could have added more. It was hardly noticeable. I agree that a cheaper cut of meat could have been used and definitely simmer this for a long time (crockpot!) to tenderize the meat. A great way to use tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
A total hit with my family. Very Yummy! I did however use fresh cooked beans (de la olla) instead of the canned, which i think made the recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Fe Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was sooo yummy! I am going to start making this regularly. The only change I made was I used stew meat (easier) and instead of the serrano peppers I used chopped green new mexico chile (we buy sacks and store bags of it in the freezer) I've been craving an authentic mexican meal and this hit the spot! My husband loved it and even suggested making it for family get togethers! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States